Book Blogging · books · reading · writing · Young Adult

Writer’s Block

It has been a while since I just sat down in front of my computer and just typed.

I have been going through a huge writer’s block for over a year now and it is extremely frustrating. I just can’t… write 😣

Sometimes I get an idea and start planning straight away but then I get distracted or just lose interest and forget all about it. Other times I just start typing and it’s going okay for a thousand words and then I lose interest.

None of my ideas stem, my brain just won’t think about them for too long before I just want to sit and read or watch many, many, many episodes on Netflix.

Although, I think I found my calling that relates to writing. I think I would like to edit. I’m good at fixing things, rearranging them and I have read more than enough books to pick up on potential stories. I love when people ask me if I could read something over for them… it is literally their biggest mistake because I take their piece and actually reword most of it πŸ˜‚Β I do feel terrible when I give it back to them but also it feels so satisfying. That sounds so weird.

Anywho, the point is I have been going through a writer’s block and not giving my own writing any time. I have so many documents started and they just sit there unopened.

The main problem is that I am not motivated in general. My family and friends will tell you that I need serious encouragement to do something, which is a really bad trait to have when you would like to write or edit in the future. My motivation levels are seriously low but I use to many ways to help me do things. I wrote a post on this not long ago:Β 5 Tips to Motivate Yourself

I must also mention that as part of my final year of college, students are required to either do a research project or creative writing project. I am hopeless as research, so freaking terrible. Research for essays are okay but a whole dissertation? I would not survive. I chose the creative writing one in which I can write novel extract, a collection of short stories or 30 poems. I decided it was time to get back on the writing wagon and chose the novel extract.

It is my dream to write a love-changing novel, even if it just helps at least one person.

This dream + my writer’s block = disaster.Β 

It has taken me days just to sit down and write this post. I have been wanting to blog for so long but apart from work, I just have not been motivated. I have been on my Saturday Cleaning Buzz and after rearranging my desk, I decided it was time to just sit down and admit defeat.

Have any of you got any advice for writer’s block, or any tips on how to make your brain actually work?

Oh and before I go I just want to announce that I FINISHED THE PERCY JACKSON SERIES! Another childhood I never read but I have now and cannot wait to get stuck into Heroes of Olympus πŸ˜ƒ

Sorry this post was my rambling on and complaining πŸ™ƒ

Thank you so much for reading,

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 22.30.52


YOU CAN FIND ME HERE!

Goodreads:Β https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/47209862-pierina

Twitter:Β https://twitter.com/Pierinac12

Gmail: pierinac12@gmail.com

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. It often helps me to just sit for 25 minutes and write down literally everything that comes into my head. Full-on stream-of-consciousness writing. Some people prefer to do this on paper, but I prefer a computer because my thoughts move so quickly. I find that it helps to get used to writing and that it gets all the crap out of my head that’s taking up my creative space. Hopefully you find something that works for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

