adventure · Authors · Book Blogging · books · Movie · reading · romance · Seasons · travel · Young Adult

Contemporary Recommendations

Spring is here! Yes, I am a few weeks late with that statement… It has been raining non-stop here in Ireland and there was even a storm, so Spring wasn’t really here. But, these past few days have been bright, warm and my dog isn’t soaked in rain… which means Spring is finally coming. We’ll see how long it lasts though… 😂

Anyway, if Spring is here and Summer is next, what a better way to enjoy that sun by reading some contemporary books? I absolutely love cute, mushy romance books when the weather is nice. It just adds to the all-good feeling! When I was younger and went on family holidays, Mam and I literally spent our 2 weeks binge reading. Holidays is the only time Mam gets to read and she goes all out… which means I get in the book spirit and go all out too. It annoys my sisters something terrible but it is so relaxing for us ❤

So, here is some Contemporary Recommendations!

Warning: There is a lot 😁

Loved Loved Loved this duology…. which is become a trilogy! So excited to read Forever and Always, Lara Jean ❤ Definitely my top Spring read!

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 13.39.06

I binge read this series within 2 days… So good! Set near the sea, it really gives you that Summer feeling and all you want is to go to this Holiday Home with these characters ❤

I think this was one of the first YA Contemporaries I ever read and fell in love with! This series is the kind you read when the sun is out and want a really mushy story ❤ Definitely swoon worthy!

Another series by CJ Duggan that I absolutely loved! These characters are totally different from the Summer Series as is the setting. It is also for an older audience like 15+.

If you follow my blog for a while then you will know my obsession with the Grover Beach Team Series ❤ So amazing! Katmore does such a great job of captivating me in this world. I love these characters so much and have reread so many times. Also another Summer read for me!

Screen Shot 2016-05-01 at 14.36.53

You may also know that I have been obsessed with this book since I picked it up a few years back… I read it every year and will keep reading it every year because I am obsessed with these characters and the plot. Definitely an easy and fast paced read. Funny and swoon worthy too!

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 21.19.26

You’re probably thinking “Isn’t that a new movie with Nick Robinson?”. The answer is… YES IT FREAKING IS! I wasn’t sure about this book when I started it because it dealt with a sickness and I try to avoid books like this, but it was so captivating and cute and adorable and… I have no other words. Definitely read this before you go to see the movie!

These two books are for an older audience… 16+ maybe. But, they are definitely full of humour, drama and cute moments. The DUFF (movie) is completely different from the book so if you are 16 and over then this book is definitely worth the read! I reread Shut Out last year and laughed so much! It also deals with the inequality girls receive and the pressures they have to put up with in school.

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 9.23.04 p.m.

This book may be about starting college and the last thing you want to think about is school during Summer and Spring, but it is so worth the read.

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 16.45.24

As big as this book seems, it is an easy read and so fast paced too! This is such an adorable book… Not only is it about a mushy romance and a summer with friends, but there is so many dogs involved! The whole dog thing made me so happy and I just loved this book ❤

Any Nicholas Sparks book! I had read most of his books and they always get me in the cute romantic mood! Yes, they are mainly based on the relationships between characters, but Sparks also deals with issues bigger than romance. Hidden within the plot, the characters are always running from something or they are dealing with something that they are trying to forget. Most of these books are movies too, so read the book and watch the adaptation!

Any Kasie West book! Love West’s novels ❤ They are so easy to read and you become addicted to the characters. I usually read her novels within one or two sittings. I just flip those pages like there is no tomorrow until I reach the end 😛

Screen Shot 2016-09-04 at 15.20.06

Love this book ❤ This was my first Colleen Hoover novel and I completely fell head over heels ❤ ❤ I have also read It Ends With Us, but I have a feeling this will always be my favourite Colleen Hoover novel. I even downloaded the album and still listen to it… 😛 Review here.

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 16.26.35

I remember looking for a book that was easy to read and all out cute and mushy. This was definitely fit what I was looking for. I think I read this in 2 sittings. I couldn’t get enough of it ❤ That Summer camp thing really gets me in a Summer mood 😀

There is my long list of recommendations! There was plenty more but decided not to overload you with too many 😀 I really hope you get some good ideas for your Spring and Summer TBRs. I know that I want to reread some of these ❤ If you decide to read any of these, let me know what you think!

Have you got any Spring / Summer recommendations?

Thank you so much for reading,

white-wallpaper

GoodReads

Twitter

12 thoughts on “Contemporary Recommendations

  1. Those Katmore covers are stunning. I’ve been eyeing that Han series for so long. I can’t wait to read it!

    I think Sarah Dessen’s books, especially Just Listen and The Truth About Forever Are Must Reads.

    Great idea for a post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

