Book Blogging · books · mafia · reading · Review · romance · thriller · Winter · writing · Young Adult

Mafiosa, Catherine Doyle Book Review

*DON’T READ THIS REVIEW IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BEGINNING OF THE BLOOD FOR BLOOD SERIES BECAUSE EITHER WAY YOU WILL BE SPOILED*

I am laying all of my cscreen-shot-2017-01-15-at-01-58-28ards out on the table with this review, and there are a lot!

Hello welcome… don’t know why I seem so enthusiastic because I am just a bundle of emotions right now. I decided that even though I rarely review books, I needed to do one for you guys and for this book. I need to let it
all out.

GoodReads Synopsis

“A blood war rages on the streets of Chicago.

Protected by an infamous mafia family, Sophie is living a dangerous lie, pretending to lead a normal life. But the deceit can’t last for ever. Her heart belongs to a killer and Sophie’s the prime target of a rival clan. She’s determined to seek revenge on her mother’s murderers, but can she pay the price – can she be a mafiosa?

The third and final instalment in the explosive YA Blood for Blood series which started with Vendetta and Inferno.” 

I am going to place my Vendetta review (my second review ever from 2015) right here here so I can reminisce and you can see that my love has run deep for this series ❤

Non-Spoilers

Doyle’s use of empowering scenes and tension is just fantastic. She really knows how to build the tension and then unravel you. I loved Vendetta and Inferno but Mafiosa was phenomenal. The plot line was so well developed and flowed so nicely. The characters all acted their parts, especially Sophie and her lost state. Obviously a YA mafia/Italian roots book would draw me in but Doyle really creates such a wonderful world… I mean not wonderful because well, mafia. But her ability to place each character in certain places at certain times and watching that plot unfold was amazing.

I really appreciated Doyle’s writing. It was so simplistic but at the same time beautiful. I was reading along and you would not believe the amount of times I stopped and reread paragraphs because her writing just blew me away. The way she phrases her scenes, especially complicated and messy ones, makes them easy to pinpoint and even conjure in in your mind.

I  just need to say that I also appreciated Sophie and Millie’s empowering behaviours towards the men/guys in this series as a whole. Maybe it’s the feminist in me talking, or the three exams where I waffled about womanhood, but Millie’s snappy attitude is just amazing. She takes no crap of anyone and Sophie, in turn, is the exact same considering her situation. And I have to mention that large number of guys because, wow. It just made this book even better than it already was ❤

The love triangle was fantastic. I am not going to lie, I like love triangles. But, they become so common and cheesy that I begin to get bored. Doyle hit the hammer on the head with this love triangle. It wasn’t too much and over the top, it was just enough to make you want more… does that make sense?

I didn’t realise I had so many non-spoiler points 😂 But I want to show you my journey through this book:

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-01-48-16

I am laughing at myself just looking at this 😂 but I can’t forget my GoodReads review:

5*

“Such a fabulous ending to this trilogy. I am so sad to leave this world and Sophie since I have been following these characters on the release of the very first book. I am so proud of Catherine Doyle, even prouder because she’s Irish!!, her writing is so beautiful and her plot lines and twists are insane. I’m looking forward to everything else she throws me way ☺”

I am not going to do a spoiler section because this post is already so long… and you will get bored of me rambling on because I tend to do that a lot.

All I can say to you at this point is to PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE read this series and love it just as much as I did! If not for me then to support an Irish author who deserves all the recognition in the world for creating such vivid scenes of passion, violence, love and bloodshed. Truly phenomenal ❤

By the way, I was not asked to do a review for this book or told to write anything. This was all my own words and emotions. And yes you can love a book/series as much as I loved this series. Writing good things does not mean I was asked to.

Anyway, if you have read this book what are your thoughts?

Thank you so much for reading,

wordpress-signature

GoodReads

Twitter

Leave a Reply

