Book Blogging · books · reading · Tips · writing · Young Adult

5 Tips To Help You Incorporate Reading Into Your Life

I am back with another “5” 😂. I realised the other day that I have not done a tips post in so long and really wanted to do one for you guys.

Life has been busy these past few months and I am sure so many of you can understand that time is so limited and you can never get anything done. As much I love reading, sometimes I can’t find the time to read books that I love.

If you didn’t know, I am studying English in college and so I do spend a large amount of time reading novels, plays, poems and academic papers. But even though I am enjoying the classics and whatnot, I miss my fantasy </3 Or a book that I voluntarily read 😛

So here’s some tips on how to carve some time out of your busy schedule to sit down and relax with your book.

Night Reading

Try read before you go to sleep. This can be tricky for two reasons though.

  1. You might become so immersed within your fictional world and read all night. This is what usually happens to me and I am so sleep deprived the next day. But it can be a good way to help you fall asleep and also just takes some time to destress before falling into a peaceful sleep.
  2. Your day has been so long and all you want to do is close your eyes and drift off. This happens to me occasionally, especially when I have early morning classes. No matter how much you try and stay awake a little bit longer, you zone out and don’t even follow the story. In this case, just turn off your lamp and get some rest.

giphy3

Lunch Reading

You may have some time in between classes or have a break from work, why not take your book along with you and squeeze in some reading time. Yes, this is unsociable but if you don’t know me then you don’t know that I am unsociable anyway. I do this a lot during my work breaks and it is so relaxing to just break away from the world of money and work and have to actually do things. I do love sitting in a café, eating my bacon and cream cheese bagel while reading a good fantasy.

screen-shot-2017-01-08-at-23-35-55
© Pinterest

Audiobook Reading

This is such a handy way to incorporate reading into your life. Listen to your audiobook while your driving, cleaning, going for a walk, showering… did I take that one too far? I also like to play it to help me fall asleep which can be soothing, unless the scene is really intense and then I am lying there within all of this suspense waiting for someone to die 😬However, I understand that audiobooks can be expensive, but I use audible which I think is great.

screen-shot-2017-01-08-at-23-40-37
© Pinterest

Weekend Retreat Reading

If you have a busy week but your weekend is wide open, then take some of that time to read. It is such a nice way to finish your week and also destress from being on the go. Just stay in bed with your duvets and blankets all day and read your little heart away… do see my recurring hermit pattern by now? It’s getting out control 😳

screen-shot-2017-01-09-at-00-01-02
© Pinterest 

Priority Reading 

So this one isn’t highly recommended but I sometimes do this. Drop everything and just read. No matter how much work is piling up on your desk, essays and deadlines, just leave everything there and read. This only usually happens when there is a highly anticipated release that I have been waiting for and all I can think about is the characters and the world. I am telling you now that when Crystal Storm but Morgan Rhodes finally arrives, my studying will not matter. That makes me sound like a and student but it’s what happens.

screen-shot-2017-01-08-at-23-54-46
© Pinterest 

They are my 5 tips for incorporating reading into your life. If you would like some more tip posts then please let me know so I can prepare them and think about what tips to do next 🙃

What tips would you recommend?

Thank you guys so much for reading,

wordpress-signature

GoodReads

Twitter

One thought on “5 Tips To Help You Incorporate Reading Into Your Life

Leave a Reply

