Book Blogging · books · christmas · Favourites · Movie · reading · Young Adult

Fantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them Movie Talk

I think this is my first movie review / talk and I am really excited about it. I know I am less than a month late with this but I only went to see it last Sunday so it’s not my fault 😛

I have wanted to do this kind of post ever since I saw it because I have so much to say (praise) and I know so much of you guys are huge J.K Rowling fans.

GOOGLE FEEDBACK FOR FANTASTIC BEASTS
The year is 1926, and Newt Scamander (Eddie Redmayne) has just completed a global excursion to find and document an extraordinary array of magical creatures. Arriving in New York for a brief stopover, he might have come and gone without incident, were it not for a No-Maj (American for Muggle) named Jacob, a misplaced magical case, and the escape of some of Newt’s fantastic beasts, which could spell trouble for both the wizarding and No-Maj worlds.
*Trailer*

*NON-SPOILERS*

Firstly, let me start off by saying that I just loved loved loved loved this film ❤ It was just so amazing and I regret not going to see it sooner. You all know I am a huge fan of the Harry Potter films and have started reading the series, but this film just took my love and admiration of Rowling to a whole new level 😌

Adult wizarding world? I didn’t know if I was going to like that mainly because I love being amongst the YA community. Adulting is hard and I tried to stay away from it as much as I can 😛 But I really liked this aspect of it.

Another aspect which I really enjoyed was 1920’s New York. The 20’s is so fascinating to me and if I had the chance to time travel I think I would choose this decade. Obviously movies glamourise everything but I loved the writer’s and director’s take on how New York in the 20’s would look in their eyes. The fashion (I really liked Tina’s pantsuit thing), the hair styles, the gold and silver, glamour and glitz. It looked amazing and the design team really nailed it.

The contrasting humour and darkness really worked. There was not too much plot-driven aspects and we weren’t consumed with all these twisting events and facts. The characters were able to communicate and we were introduced to another side of the wizarding world that Harry Potter doesn’t focus a lot on and that is the beasts, the creatures. I mean yes they are present in the films but I didn’t really pay so much attention to them but more the plot and characters. This movie gave a different aspect and I really really liked it.

I mean I honestly don’t know why Rowling is not being taught in schools. We are being raised on classical literature and they are great, but Rowling is the literary genius of this generation and she deserves to have her books taught in schools. So that was totally away from the film talk but it needed to be said.

SO BEYOND THIS POINT THERE IS NOTHING BUT SPOILERS! IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN THIS MOVIE THEN PLEASE GO SEE IT BECAUSE YOU WILL JUST LOVE IT AND COME BACK AND CHAT!

*SPOILERS… SPOILERS… SPOILERS…*

The humour was brilliant. I laughed so many times and it wasn’t just a giggle here and there. I mean I full on laughed so hard and loud that people kept looking at me like I had ten heads 😂 Especially the rhino-beast scene (was it a rhino?). That was just comical and I still laugh at it! The Niffler was hilarious, like he had me in stitches laughing when it was spotted in the jewellery shop and Newt tried to get it 😂

Not only was Newt such a great character and Eddie played him so well but Jacob really added to light-hearted humour which I really loved. The No-Maj addition was really different and seeing his reaction to everything was just like

giphy

Anyway as I was saying, I loved how we get to see a No-Mag in amongst magic and wizards. It’s something new and it was lovely to see how Newt, Tina and Queen just accepted him (Newt with some persuasion 😛 ).

That scene where we finally learn what is in the case is just another level of magic. The graphics were amazing, the idea and creation of these characters were just beautiful. This is going to sound weird but the colours and contrasts were so inviting… yep that did sound weird 😂

For so long we are kept in this little happy bubble dedicated to Newt and his beasts which I appreciated as that is what the title suggests. The whole film was not centred around the Obscuras and the darker side of the New York. Getting to know the beasts and the love Newt shares for them really made the movie that much better.

Moving onto the darker plots. WOW! Like just so… I don’t even know… where to start. Rowling is just a freaking genius. To even imagine creatures like these. I mean I know that she created Harry Potter but she really just shows off that wild imagination she has. And then for illustrators and artists put an image to her imagination is wonderful. Like imagine your designs, characters, plot was made into film? How amazing would that be?

And I went off point again 😂

Yes, Obsuras, Credence, Modesty! Oh freaking wow. I mean I did actually think that Modesty was the Obsuras. I mean I had this gut feeling that Credence had some involvement somewhere but the plot really led me to believe it was Modesty. And then Credence…

AND THEN GRAVES…

OH MY WORLD!

I REALLY DID NOT SEE THAT ONE COMING!!!!!

I really wanted to like Graves. Like I wanted him to be a good guy but Rowling crushed my dreams 😖 Anyway I will get over the fact that he wasn’t good but I will not get over Grindelwald!

I am also going to point out that I had no clue that Johnny Depp was casted for this at all. I really was clueless about it and when he transformed, my jaw hit the floor. That was a surprise within itself.

LIKE WUUUUUUT?

giphy1

Okay so other than plots, graphics and unknown casts… the characters were so loveable and amazing.

331103id1b_FantasticBeasts_NewtScamandar_Keyart_48x70.indd
© fantasticbeasts.com

Newt ❤ Little little Newt ❤ I loved his character so much. He was so adorable and the love he had for his creatures was just ☺️. It went beyond the research and investigations to the connection he created with each of them and Pickett was one of my favourite ❤

porpentina
© fantasticbeasts.com

Tina was one badass woman. I mean I know that she was down in the dumps in the beginning but I enjoyed watching how her character progressed. I also loved her drive and the want to make something of herself again. She wanted to be independent and just wasn’t scared to get her old life back. I mean I admired Rowling even more for adding her into this crazy film!

331103id5b_FantasticBeasts_JacobKowalski_Keyart_48x70.indd
©fantasticbeasts.com

Jacob ❤ I’ve already said a little bit about him but he is just one of the sources of humour. At the end just broke my heart. I was not ready. I thought one of them would find a way to make sure he remembered. And he did in some sort of way with his pastries and cakes but I was still heartbroken nonetheless.

queenie
©fantasticbeasts.com

Queenie is literally Queen! She is hands down one of my favourite characters! Like she is hilarious, quirky, little bit nosy and she knows how to make a guy uncomfortable 😂 I loved her moment when she was sneaking the case out of the Wizard Court thing place. I laughed so hard like yes! She really knew how to make the turn of events her own and it was Queenie to the rescue!! I enjoyed her character so much and loved the budding romance between her and Jacob ❤

credence
© fantasticbeasts.com

Credence… WOW. Such a great character. The actor (Ezra Miller?) played him so well. The secrecy, the fear in his eyes… I really just wanted to reach into the screen and give him a hug. Like he had to face all of that and his foster mother? My heart broke and to be honest I was glad that he was the Obscurer. I mean I know he was scared and all but he got his own way back in a way… Okay no that sounded bad. Okay so can someone please tell me did he actually die in the end? I was a little bit confused by that…

I mean I really cannot think of a single fault at all. Not even some sort of criticism. It just blew my mind and I really want to see it again. Like I would actually pay money to sit and watch a film I saw only a week before again. That is how much I loved it ❤ ❤ ❤

What are your thoughts on this movie? Please tell me you loved it as much as I did!

That is all for this move talk / review. I really hope you liked it because I had been planning on writing it for a while. Rowling and everyone involved in the making of this movie did such a fantastic job, they really did.

Thank you guys so much for reading,

wordpress-signature

GoodReads

Twitter

 

Leave a Reply

