Book Blogging · books · christmas · reading · Winter

Christmas Tree Must Haves

*Sorry this was meant to upload sooner but bad wifi = less Christmas Tree photos*

My first proper Christmas themed post of 2016!!! πŸ™ŒπŸ½

Last night I was putting up my tree (my own tree for my room and not the family tree) and was looking through all my decorations I got last year. With changing trends, I thought that this post would be fun.

First of all… colours.

I am more of a classic Christmas Tree person with my gold and red. I don’t like other kinds of colour baubles or tinsel. I so have a white / silver piece of tinsel because it was my first ever Christmas decoration I bought for myself πŸ˜‚ and I have kept it.

But if you love a colourful Christmas tree then spice it up! Reds, golds, silvers, purples, blues, greens. Whatever colours you want. Our family tree is all sorts of colours but it really stands out.

Swiftly moving on to…Β fairy lights

What is a Christmas tree without lights? I personally love multicoloured lights on my tree because I have a 2 colour system and it brightens up my tree. But I find that they can kind of look a little bit dull sometimes too.

Bright, flashing lights are the best (and probably) only kind of Christmas tree lights that will make your tree stand out for all your neighbours to see as they drive by πŸ˜›

What’s a tree without…Β baubles!

Baubles are the best things in the world! I love taking the time to prepare where each one will go and making sure that they are all separated throughout the tree and not just the front… I feel bad for the back otherwise.

You don’t have to limit yourself to just baubles though. In my Christmas set I received bows and little presents hung by strings. I also have a personalised rocking horse decoration that my Grandparents gave to me when I was a kid. I put it up every year. Also little decorations my sisters and I made in school go on the tree too.

The more personalised your decorations, the better because the tree represents you and your family… that sounded sappy πŸ™„ But it’s true. Personalisation adds taste, uniqueness and life to your tree.

I can never have a tree without its…Β tinsel.Β 

I don’t care what anybody says, tinsel is not out of fashion. The amount of people that tell me that tinsel is outdated and tacky. If you think that then don’t buy it. But I freaking love tinsel. It might look a little tacky but it really adds sparkle and glitter to your tree. It really brightens it up under the fairy lights.

Mam is also a big fan of tinsel and she goes for all the extravagant colours.

You can also add…Β beads.Β 

Not a personal favourite of mine because I don’t really feel like they do anything but I had some up last year. I prefer lining my walls or shelves with beads.

But if you want to add more to your tree then try beads!

You can’t not have…Β presents.

I love seeing all the wrapped gifts under the tree. It gets me in the giving mood and I always just want to rip up all the paper and find out what my Kris Kindle / Secret Santa got me. I’m impatient when it comes to presents but I still love them nonetheless.

My sisters and I are doing Kris Kindle again for the second time and I always tell them to keep mine a secret. Buying presents for each of us is so costly and then we end up with little bits that don’t really mean anything. Kris Kindle is so much better because I get to put more effort into something more personal for them.

But yeah having presents under the tree is the best feeling in the world!

Last but not least, there is no way you can have a tree without…Β star / angel.Β 

I know a lot of people who put angels on top of their trees. My family has always put a star on the tree and I love it! Usually there is always a big fight about who gets to put it on and blah blah blah, but with my own tree I don’t have that worry πŸ˜›

img_0261

Putting the star / angel on the tree last is so rewarding. There is just something whole about it… and I’m going all sappy and deep again πŸ˜‚

Am I the only one who overthinks about their Christmas Tree, or Christmas for that matter?

What are your Christmas tree essentials?

The big day is getting close and all I can think about is the books I will receive, the massive dinner I will devour and the laugh with my family afterward ❀

Thank you so much for reading,

wordpress-signature

 

 

 

 

GoodReads

Twitter

6 thoughts on “Christmas Tree Must Haves

Leave a Reply

