Book Blogging · Book Tag · books · Favourites · reading · Seasons · Winter · Young Adult

Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

Weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish!

I love how a lot of posts are starting to centre around their favourites in 2016. Now that the year is coming to an end, it’s time to share with all of you what I have loved / hated and experienced over the last year 😛

2016 for me was all about fantasy. I didn’t really know about YA Fantasy last year until December so it has been exactly a year since I bought a Cassandra Clare book and became so enthralled in the fantasy world.

This year has been so exciting for me because I have read so many new authors that are central to YA Fantasy genre, but instead of focusing on the bigger names, I want to draw some light on other authors.

Let’s start shall we?

screen-shot-2016-11-21-at-19-07-07
Morgan Rhodes

Rhodes just blew me away with her Falling Kingdoms series and A Book of Spirits and Thieves. I was just so entranced by her world full of magic and secrets. Her writing is so simple and elegant and she is really one of my favourite authors.

 

screen-shot-2016-12-06-at-17-07-37
Jenny Han

I have heard so much about Han over the year and was so curious about her books. I read To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and literally gobbled it up within a night. I remember staying up for 2 nights straight reading this book and its sequel. Her characters just drew me in straight away and I wasn’t ready to leave. She creates such unique reality worlds that really allows me to escape my own reality.

screen-shot-2016-11-21-at-19-05-38
Sabaa Tahir

I know I have talked so much about Tahir since I read AEITA but she really just blew my mind. I love her world, her characters, her imagination. She manages to keep me entertained with her plot but add in the romance that I love. And her titles are just genius!

screen-shot-2016-12-06-at-17-08-22
Alwyn Hamilton

I know that I have only read A Rebel of the Sands but I just loved the book so much. Hamilton really created a totally different world so unique and different from other authors. The difference in culture alone really made it for me. The plot was just amazing and Hamilton really has a way of surprising me with her writing.

 

screen-shot-2016-12-06-at-17-08-53
Saraa Raasch

I only discovered Raasch’s Snow Like Ashes series this year and I loved it. I still have to read the last book but I want to be in the right mind space to absorb all of it. I think what I love most about her is that she took magic and fictional worlds to the next level. The addition of separating seasons into countries is really something else. Like I know it’s not an original idea but I feel like she just did it so well and the hatred between them really personified how people feel about seasons. Like I don’t like Summer but love Winter. Does that make sense?

 

screen-shot-2016-12-06-at-17-09-23
Kasie West

I love the simpleness of West’s books. They are so cute and always give me the feels. They may be cliche in the world of romance but that’s what I need sometimes. Reading so much fantasy actually makes me forget that reality is real and that people are not like characters. West brings back those realities for me. I know that love in books is not necessary real but I like reading about it… don’t judge 😛

 

screen-shot-2016-12-06-at-17-09-54
Mary E. Pearson

Pearson is phenomenal when it comes to her plots. She really has gripping the edge of my seat and jaw dropping. Like how does she come up with these twists? She really points you in one direction and you are just so sure about everything but nope, she pulls right back and flings the opposite direction. I thought I learned my lesson with The Heart of Betrayal and was weary of everything but she still managed to catch me out.

 

screen-shot-2016-12-06-at-17-10-19
Colleen Hoover

If you have been reading my blog for a while then you know that grateful I am for all of you who kept recommending Hoover to me. I don’t know why she draws me in but she does. I think she brings a different aspect to contemporary. She includes real life problems and concerns and not just boy meets girl and they fall in love with a whole lot of drama. If you’ve read Maybe Someday and It Ends With Us then you know what I’m talking about.

 

screen-shot-2016-12-06-at-17-06-50
Roshani Chokshi

Star-Touched Queen was simply one of the most beautifully written books I have ever read. Like her writing was just so wonderful and amazing and I don’t know any other words to describe it. When I was reading this book I actually felt like her words were a piece of art so beautifully woven together. I also loved her use of diverse culture. Sorry I still can’t get over her writing skills… 😳

 

screen-shot-2016-12-06-at-17-10-48
Maggie Stiefvator

I think we can all agree (if not all then most) that Stiefvator is so entrancing. Even though I was confused at so many stages of her Raven Cycle series, I was still so caught up in everything. She cerated such loveable characters. Like I loved them all and wanted to be part of their King hunting squad. She is just a genius with an insane imagination.

That took some time to prepare 😛 I really loved doing this week’s theme. I had to look back on all these amazing books I read this year, I just hope that next year I continue to find new authors.

Who are some of the new authors you discovered this year?

Thank you so much for reading,

wordpress-signature

 

 

 

GoodReads

Twitter

6 thoughts on “Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

  1. I have not yet read books of all of these authors but I agree on Jenny Han, Mary E. Pearson (she’s also in my list) and Maggie Stiefvater. The rest I still have to discover for myself 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

