Book Blogging · books · reading · Seasons · Winter · Young Adult

November Wrap Up

IT’S DECEMBER 😳 HOW… WHEN… WHERE HAS THE REST OF THE YEAR GONE? 😱

That is crazy but I’m not going to complain because there are only 24 DAYS UNTIL CHRISTMAS AND I AM SO EXCITED… CAN YOU TELL I’M EXCITED?

Anyway back to reality for a second. I am not impressed with myself.

4 books. I only read 4 books last month and 2 of them were for college.

My current score on GoodReads is 90 so I am making my 10 books a priority this month, despite college… That’s probably not a great example πŸ˜‚

AYLI:

3.5*
I actually really enjoyed this play. I am so used to his tragedies we studied in school and I was always so bored but this comedic element was so much more enjoyable. I found it so much easier to follow and really liked the disguise features used.

 

Coriolanus:

2*
I actually liked this play despite the rate. I am not a huge fan of Shakespeare because he always confuses me and there is always so much more to the plot. Also the way teachers push it on us so much that I just instinctively hate it. But bar Romeo and Juliet, this is one of my favourite tragedies.

screen-shot-2016-12-01-at-19-54-23
3.5*
I was a little disappointed by this book because I though it was going in a whole different direction. But that is the only fault I give it. Worded beautifully, writing is elegant and simple. Characters play their roles well especially our female protagonist. I really loved Johnston’s female empowerment in this novel, it was fresh and inspiring within a different form of culture.
“The world is made safe by a woman” ❀️❀️❀️
screen-shot-2016-12-01-at-19-58-45
4.5*

This book had my feelings all over the place! Maria did such a good job of writing this story. I was just so attached within the first few chapters and this book definitely got me out of my reading slump. I loved that there is a story dedicated to healers because they are my favourite kinds of fantasy. Her writing was so simple yet elegant… I loved her use of time. She didn’t dwell too much on details but really sped up the process of the book to make time believable. The characters were amazing. Avry is now one of my favourite female protagonists and I loved the relationship she shared with Kerrick and his men. One thing I will say about this book is that Maria doesn’t really portray emotions as well as I would have preferred. But all in all, I enjoyed this book!

There you have it! I am so happy I finally got to read A Thousand Nights though. It has been on TBR for a while I really wanted to be in the mood to read it.

My current read is:

screen-shot-2016-09-20-at-18-02-10

FINALLY πŸ˜‚ I loved Kiss of Deception so much but it took me a while to bring myself to read the second book. I am only like 18% in but I am loving it already πŸ™Š

What books did you read last month?

Thanks for reading guys,

Pierina Reads ❀

GoodReads

Twitter

 

10 thoughts on “November Wrap Up

  1. I really want to read A Thousand Nights! Sorry you didn’t love it! Good luck with your Goodreads goal. I’m so far behind on mine because of the reading slump I was in for the last two months. *sigh* Ah, well! At least Christmas is on its way, right? πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

