Book Blogging · books · reading

DeptCon 2 Retelling

Just give me a second to get this off my chest…

I MET SARAH J MAAS, I MET SARAH J MAAS, I CAN’T BELIEVE I MET SARAH J MAAS ๐Ÿ™Š

Sorry… ๐Ÿ˜‚

Anywho! DeptCon was so much fun and I just wish I could relive it again! It is a 2-day event but I was just so tired from the week and the fact that I had to make that trip in again the second day… No.

But Friday was basically the highlight of my year… now I just sound like a sad hermit.

I was “one of the lucky ones” to receive a tote bag containing new releases, ACOTAR tote bag and Sarah J Maas colouring pencils. It was just so cute and think it was a great idea, mainly because I got free books and bag ๐Ÿ˜›

fullsizeoutput_5d6

I loved the panels, the atmosphere and the fact that we were all into the same books and authors and there was nobody judging ๐Ÿ˜›

David Levithan and Rachel Cohn spoke and signed first. I have never read one of their books before but it has been in the back of my mind. The two were so down to earth and really bounced off each other. I loved their panel. I didn’t get anything signed because I don’t own any of their books but when I saw the pair talking about their writing and how they communicated with their characters ย I just knew I had to read them, Dash and Lily in particular. I am so excited to pick that one up ๐Ÿ˜€

Cecelia Ahern, Derek Landy and Eoin Colfer took the stage next. I don’t think I have ever laughed so hard in my life ๐Ÿ˜‚ ย Oh wow… I always see Cecelia’s books but they are most adult and you know that I am just not ready to grow up yet… but her new YA just sounds like my cup of tea! I just loved how these three connected throughout their panel. They got on so well and literally just slagged each other off ๐Ÿ˜‚ ย I think their personalities really just blended and it was one of the best panels ๐Ÿ˜€

Holly Bourne and Juno Dawson definitely had my attention. Moderator Deirdre Sullivan had some great questions which really brought Holly and Juno’s perspective and views to the foreground. I just loved everything they had to say about feminism and the society where we live today, not to mention the fact that less people are reading because of prescribed reading! Their friendship really stood out and they were the perfect combination for this panel ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿผ ย Their thoughts really inspired me to think about the direction of my writing and what I may want to include or exclude.

fullsizeoutput_5d7

 

Meeting Sarah J Maas just topped everything though! I really did love each and every author previous and they definitely inspired me in some way to think about my writing and the different paths I can take, but because I love Sarah and the fact that she is one of my biggest Fantasy influences, it was just amazing to talk to her for a few seconds.

She is so vibrant and full of humour not to mention the gratitude she had for all of us there supporting her career and making it happen. I loved her side stories into her process of writing TOG and how music has not only impacted her life but her writing. Truly amazing โค Then she signed my book…

I was mesmerised for a second and then I realised she asked me about my name ๐Ÿ˜‚ ย You all know my name is unusual because my family is Irish – Italian. I get so many compliments and this time was no different. She asked me where it was from and have I ever been to Italy. Such a lovely person โค I’m just growing to throw out there also how beautiful her husband is if you have not seen him at the signings… Just freaking WOW โค They are just so adorable though ๐Ÿ˜‚ ย Kevin actually said it looked like Aelin and Rhys which he was so right about!

That is my DeptCon experience for you guys! I met some wonderful friends of Kevin’s who are so lovely who also have YouTube accounts!

Aoifeย andย Katieย , go check them out!

I also metย Rachelย who is also part of this book community!

All in all it was a great day, before and after the event. I had so much fun and am just so grateful that I have found this community and get to go to these amazing events. Department 51 do a great job ๐Ÿ˜€

I hope you liked the little insight into how things went. If you would like to see a live version check out Kevin’sย vlog!

Thank you guys so much for reading,

Pierina Reads โค

GoodReads

Twitter

 

6 thoughts on “DeptCon 2 Retelling

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed DeptCon!! It sounds like you had a ton of fun, and you learned a lot. I really respect that you checked out new authors — so many people don’t check out authors they are unfamiliar with at cons. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good for you!
    And congrats on meeting Sarah J. Maas!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

