Book Blogging · Review

Crooked Kingdom, Leigh Bardugo | Book Review

Are you ready to laugh at how emotionally invested I will become?

So its been a week or so since Crooked Kingdoms was released and I hope most of you have had some time to battle the feels of this book. So, like my EOS review I will split this into non-spoilers and spoilers. It’s easier on everyone really 😛

GoodReads Synopsis:

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.  

Non-spoilers:

This book was everything and more ❤ I know I go into complete fangirl mode when I talk about books and characters but honestly this book was truly phenomenal.

Plot, characters, developments, imagery, additional characters, everything was just so precise and so well laid out. There were so many twists and turns that I just couldn’t keep up and had to take so many breaks just to process what was happening 😛

I love what the characters represent and their relationships with one another. I mean I’m an English student so digging deep into the meaning of words and characters is basically what I do whenever I read 😛 I just loved watching how each of them got their spotlight within this book and we get to see how they each play a part in the plot.

This whole idea of jurda parem and heists literally threw me off when I first read Six of Crows. I was so unsure about my feelings towards it. I really didn’t want to hate it because I love most books! Thank the heavens I absorbed the characters and their amazingness. Leigh just blew my mind in the first book and just completely left me with a Kaz hangover in the second.

If you haven’t read Six of Crows yet and are unsure, most book bloggers and readers will tell you what I am about to tell you… You will become so emotionally invested in these characters and Leigh’s writing. You will tear through those pages and not stop until you are done! You will laugh, cry and at more than five times want to punch at least three characters.

 

YOU WILL NOT REGRET READING THE SIX OF CROWS DUOLOGY! PLEASE READ AND PLEASE LOVE IT BECAUSE THE CHARACTERS ARE AMAZING, THE PLOT IN PHENOMENAL, LEIGH BARDUGO IS SO FANTASTIC IN HER WRITING AND I GET DEFENSIVE WHEN SOMEONE TELLS ME OTHERWISE 😂 .

There is not much else to say without spoiling you lot who haven’t had the chance to read CK. But please come back when you are done and let me know your thoughts 😀

giphy-2

STOP! YOU ARE ABOUT TO ENTER A SPOILER ZONE. IT IS NOT MY FAULT IF YOU READ AHEAD WITHOUT KNOWING THE FULL LENGTHS OF THE BOOK! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

Spoilers:

Where do I even begin? Kaz, Nina, Wylan… There is literally just too much to say and I am sorry that this is long 😂 .

screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-22-24-05
Kevin Wada

Okay let’s start with Wylan! What a great character overall. I liked him in SOC but he was always that character who was in the background and was just there when you needed him. Boy oh boy have times changed. I am so grateful Leigh gave him a spotlight. He has such an interesting background considering he wants revenge on his father! He is such a sensitive soul that I just want to hug him and comfort him all the time. There were so many moments though where he became so much more than Van Eck’s runaway son. I just loved watching his character develop. Moments of strength and courage just made this character for me.

Not to mention his relationship with Jesper ❤ OMG I was literally flicking through the pages just hoping something would happen between them. JYLAN? WESPER? I don’t know what their ship name is but I was all for it!

screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-22-24-16
Kevin Wada

Jesper, oh Jesper. I think his comedic commentary just balanced out the tense moments. I mean this book is a fantasy about revenge and whatnot. Things go down, there is just chaos and destruction and then there’s Jesper just cracking a joke or kissing the wrong person 😂 😂 😂  I legit could not stop laughing at that scene though! Anyway, I loved the input of his background and the story of how he came to Ketterdem. It explains so much as to why he hides his power. His Dad though ❤ I mean can we just take a moment to acknowledge the fact that he was totally cool with everything? Ok he wasn’t cool with it, but he never stood in the way! I mean my Dad would have gone mental.

“Hey Dad sorry I never came home, I kind of gambled all of my money, dropped out of college and oh yeah, I am on the run for breaking into a prison, trying to kill a council member and one of the biggest gang Kings is trying to kill me…” No joke, he would probably have a heart attack and then drag me home 😂 . I mean fair play to Colm (Jesper’s Dad) for trusting his son and letting the plot flow 😛

Kuwei 😂 😂 😂  What a little trouble maker. He added humour into this book what with the whole constantly flirting with Jesper. Every time he got close I was like “I know what you’re playing at and it is not going to work”. I mean he had some guts to exert himself but he just made me want to laugh. One minute he is trying to cozy up to poor Jesper and the next he’s fearing for his life 😂 . That sounds so horrible 😛 That little clash between him and Wylan though 👌🏼 . Wylan was all like ‘don’t you flirt with my man” and Kuwei just did not care, he did it anyway 😛 So cute!

 

screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-22-24-48

Moving on,  Nina. I love Nina. She is just so inspiring. Her attitude towards being a woman and her sassy nature that comes along with being independent. She is young and has endured so much hardship between war, captivity and pleasure houses. The fact she still has that strength, her spark to go on with the show, to get revenge and a chance at a happy life is basically a metaphor for how we live… just not as extensive. We all want to be happy in life… well I know I do, but we must jump through hurdles and battle losses. We have to be resilient and learn from our mistakes. Just as Nina had to and still has that hope of happiness. I was worried as hell about how her character would play out with the whole addiction thing but that was another obstacle she had to fight and she did so very well! I am still a little bit confused by her new power but I love it whatever it is 😂 .

screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-22-25-17
Kevin Wada

Matthias, Matthias, Matthias… I loved him from the moment he was introduced into SOC. I just knew how his story would end between him and Nina and I loved watching it blossom ❤ Such a man though! But I still love him. He is some forgiving man and I really think he was good for Nina. He grounded her and her craziness. They may clash heads at some point but there just this all around love and cuteness that I swooned. And then he dies… I was not too happy about that… I cried, and my sister came home and told me I was so weird 😂 . I was expecting one of the squad to die but it was really out of the blue. It made sense with the whole Fjerda Druskelles and all but it was so sudden and quick. I suppose it was better than being captured and tortured. All that matters is that he died in Nina’s arms and got to say goodbye ❤

Now we come to the most anticipated part of the spoiler section… Inej and Kaz ❤

I think we are all rooting for them and want KINEJ (?) to be a thing ❤ YES, HOLY YES ❤ ❤ ❤

screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-22-24-36
Kevin Wada

Inej as an individual was just so empowering throughout this duology. Can I just say that I loved the fact that Kaz depended on her for information as his spider… do you know where I am going with this? This generation of YA Fantasy is all for female power and Inej definitely expresses this in CK! I just want her to be free of Ketterdem and to find happiness killing people who enslave others! But OMG when Kaz pays out her contract for her ❤ My heart just melted. As I was saying, her bravery not only in helping Kaz pull of his revenge, but even throughout her captivity was inspiring. Her ending is literally my favourite ever ❤ Her family 🙊  There was actually tears of joy on my eyes ❤

screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-22-24-57
Kevin Wada

Kaz, my beautiful, wonderful, master-mind Kaz ❤ He is all around one of my favourite male character right next to Chaol ❤ ❤ ❤ Whatever about how I picture him in my mind, but just his hidden sensitivity that no one only Inej has the chance to see. He knows everything about everyone, nothing shocks the kid and when things don’t turn out exactly as he plans, he just creates a new strategy. There is no other fictional character that has the mind like Kaz Brekker. Starting off as revenge for his brother and his stolen childhood to revenge for his friends and new found family. His city, his title. On the surface, his brooding anger just takes over. There was one stage where he threatened to kill Pekka’s kid and I was just like “no, no, no” and he reveals he has no clue who the kid even is ❤ Sly but too caring to hurt others who do not belong in the fight ❤ SWOON 😍 . I really think it is his nasty side that attracts so many readers and throughout both books there was just so many times when you wanted to hit him with his own cane to make him see sense… like that scene where he is cleaning Inej’s wound… UGH!

But I do understand… well I don’t fully understand because I have and hopefully never will be traumatised the way he was. The fear of skin-to-skin contact just broke my heart. I just wanted him to kiss her and he is just having a silent panic attack! Sympathetic as I was though, Inej is one patient woman. She doesn’t push him to overcome his fear or press for too much information about his past which really made me love her so much more! I love his ending I really do ❤

The ending over all was brilliant. Jesper and Wylan ❤ Nina returning Matthias to his country and Kaz bringing the people Inej loves most to Ketterdem ❤ I was incredibly sad when I finished reading this book! I was not ready to say goodbye to these phenomenal characters and I bet you weren’t either… If ever Leigh does write about these wonderful characters again, be sure that I will love it no matter what ❤

SEE, SO MUCH FANGIRLING!

Can we also take a moment to appreciate these beautiful drawings of the Crows by Kevin Wada ❤ They are pretty much what I had in mind except Jesper, but looking at it now it makes sense!

That is it for this very long review. Thank you to everyone who made it this far! Obviously, I have so many opinions about this book and so many moments I want to share with you but you would be reading this post forever 😛

What are your thoughts on the book, characters, plot?

And! Who is your favourite, if you even have one? 😛

Thank you so much for reading and I hope you all have a relaxing weekend,

Pierina Reads ❤

GoodReads

Twitter

5 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom, Leigh Bardugo | Book Review

  1. I really loved this duology so much. I love all the characters! And this is coming from someone who didn’t exactly love the Grisha trilogy. My favorites are Kaz, Inej and Nina. But I honestly cant choose between them all. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

