Book Blogging · books · reading · Review · writing

Empire of Storms, Sarah J. Maas | Book Review

img_3146
5* (but realistically 100*)

BEFORE YOU BEGIN TO READ THIS VERY LONG REVIEW, NOTE THAT THERE IS A SPOILER SECTION DEDICATED TO THOSE WHO HAVE READ THE BOOK. PLEASE DO NOT READ BEYOND THAT POINT IF YOU DO NOT WANT TO BE SPOILED UNLESS YOU DO WANT TO BE SPOILED AND DON’T CARE.Β 

Okay so I think I’ve put off this post long enough. I really wanted you guys to have read this before I start rambling about it so we can chat, or just cry together 😟

Most of you know that Sarah is my Queen ❀ And if you didn’t know that… well you do now so take note πŸ˜› I am going to split this into non-spoilers and spoilers for those who have yet to read it and want to know some of my thoughts on it.

So much has happened in this book for me to summarise for you so I’m going to let GoodReads take the stage for a moment.

GoodReads Synopsis:

The long path to the throne has only just begun forΒ strengthΒ Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

Non-spoliers:

So I was looking at my reading activity whilst reading this book and think it’s actually funny now that I look back on it πŸ˜‚

screen-shot-2016-09-21-at-18-47-41

πŸ˜‚ Β πŸ˜‚ Β πŸ˜‚ Β πŸ˜‚ Β πŸ˜‚ Β πŸ˜‚

And then there’s my GoodReads review that GoodReads actually cut off most of.

screen-shot-2016-09-21-at-18-51-12

I had written so much more than that but you get the gist of how I was and still am feeling about the happenings of this book.

As you can tell I loved this book 100%. I admire Sarah so much not only as a writer but having the ability to create this magical world with strong female leads. I love the idea that the women in this series are not always relying on men to save them and males still play a major role. Maybe it is the feminist in me but I think that is the main reason why I adore Sarah as a writer and love her books so much.

Aelin is just such an inspiration for girls worldwide. You don’t have to be an assassin or living in Erilea just to relate to her. Aelin is insecure, has lost her family, is not respected my men and is mostly treated like a child who only knows trouble. I mean I think we can all pretty much relate to most of these elements. Sarah really stretches her character developments within EOS to add more strong female leads such as Lysandra, Elide and Manon… oh Manon. What a woman!

I love the different POVs in this book. Sarah does such a great job of making sure everyone is included, their turn of events, their feelings, their mindset. And what I loved even more was the addition of character POVs and past characters we may have forgotten about. I really really really loved the additions ❀ With so many characters who become relevant within the story, Sarah covers her ground. For me, I love multiple POVs. I want to know what these other characters are thinking, how they perceive the fictional world they live in and I really got the whole package here.

To cut to the chase I really recommend that you read this book if you haven’t because it is so amazing and there are so many mind blowing times. Lot’s of laughter, lot’s of crying and just moments when you actually want to kill someone. It’s an emotional rollercoaster but the best books always are.

Come back and read the spoiler section when you’ve finished because you will need someone who feels the pain you do by the end of it! πŸ˜‚

giphy-2

Spoilers:

PLEASE DO NOT READ BEYOND THIS POINT IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK!!!!

Ok I just need a minute to thank Sarah for not killing any of my favourite characters. I was so sure that someone (Aedion) was going to be killed and was not prepared for that to happen so thank you Sarah ❀

I’m going to just pick out a few things I liked because I have too much to say.

Manon and Dorian ❀ I have never been happier about such a pairing… except Celaena and Chaol. #STILLTEAMCHAOL. One thing I will say was that I really wanted the two to have more of a relationship than Enemies With Benefits kind of thing. At first I was just getting impatient when it wasn’t happening. But, I sat back for a minute and just thought things through. Dorian has just killed his evil-but-not-evil Dad, had his city taken from him by annoying witches and lost the love of his life. Manon is just not affectionate, found out she is actually Queen of the Wastes, nearly lost her second, almost killed her bitch grandmother (I don’t think I’ve ever cursed on here but my temper is running short). You know they both need a break so maybe hooking up is just better for them. So now I like this thing between them 😁 😁 😁 😁

Elide and Lorcan ❀ ❀ ❀ I really wasn’t expecting it whatsoever. It just didn’t cross my mind and then I read about it and it just clicked. It felt right πŸ˜‚. It’s just perfect πŸ™Š. Elide needs someone to love her and Lorcan needs to learn to love. OK sidetracking for a moment, Lorcan is just stupid, out of his mind, annoying, I wanted to strangle him but at the same time I JUST LOVE HIM πŸ˜‚. So many mixed emotions. I really just wanted him to man up and break his stupid bond with Maeve even though it would kill him… And Elide πŸ™†πŸΌ. Such a great addition. I know she was in QOS but you could really begin to see the person she aspired to be. She never gave up hope which makes me want to have her spirit in life.

I liked the fact that Sarah didn’t push Aedion and Lysandra’s affection towards one another. Yes she included so many hints and moments like when she nearly died saving them all in Skull’s Bay and he said he would marry her someday 😒. My heart just swooned and melted. There is so much pairings happening within this book that another would just overcrowd the love department… But damn Lysandra is one fierce woman πŸ’ͺ🏼. I just love her friendship with Aelin. It just makes me happy ☺️

Rowan Rowan Rowan. Even though I am still Team Chaol and my ship has sunk so far down that there is no chance of recovery, I still like Rowan’s character and his relationship with Aelin. He really grounds her but doesn’t make choices for her. As broody as he is I get such a kick of how serious he can be and then there’s Aelin who just has a sense of humour like no other. Also, I really appreciated the fact that Aelin wasn’t pregnant when Rowan thought she might be. I love babies and kids but it really would have disturbed the balance of the book and just messed me up completely. Rowan and Dorian’s friendship also brings me joy πŸ˜‚.

Let’s talk about this Elena, this Lock, Erawan and bloody Maeve. I have finally gotten some answers about this whole Wrdkey/Valg stuff. I was confused for a while but it’s clear now. Might I say that as idiotic as Elena was there wouldn’t be a storyline without her stupid decisions. But in all seriousness, this is why rash people should not make rash decisions. They’ll just curse the whole place and demons will end up scouring the land! We’ve already established how much I want to kill Maeve and how satisfied I will be if she does die.

Loved the addition of characters from Assassin’s Blade and can’t wait to see how they fit in in the last book… omg the last book 😣 πŸ˜–

I MISSED CHAOL SO MUCH πŸ’” πŸ’” πŸ’” πŸ’”. Like I know including him really would have been pushing the limit but maybe Sarah will use this in her novella book (I think) about Chaol. Once there is something dedicated to him I will be ok.

OK now to my last and final point. THE ENDING… (dun dun duuuun)

WHO ON EARTH TAKES PLEASURE TORTURING SOMEONE JUST BECAUSE?

AHHHHHHHHHHHH

giphy

I mean I am thankful that she isn’t dead but UGH! HASN’T THE GIRL BEEN WHIPPED AND TORTURED AND DISRESPECTED ENOUGH ALREADY! PICK ON SOMEONE YOUR OWN AGE!!! (get it because she’s like immortal and has been around for centuries πŸ˜‚) That is all I have to say about this matter.

CONGRATULATIONS IF YOU HAVE MADE IT TO THE END OF THIS POST!

giphy-3

I apologise for its length but I needed to release the pent up emotions.

That is all for this book review. Ignoring its length, I hope you enjoyed it.

What are your thoughts on Empire of Storms?

Just to let you know, this is currently me at this stage in time. I relate to you Christine ❀

giphy-1

Thank you so much for reading guys,

Pierina Reads ❀

GoodReads

Twitter

 

11 thoughts on “Empire of Storms, Sarah J. Maas | Book Review

  1. I felt the exact same way about the book as you in most aspects, although I still don’t love Rowan or ship him with Aelin (I don’t ship actually anyone with Aelin). Also, I literally cannot get over the ending, I thought it was extremely disturbing. I still need to write my review however hopefully it will be up within a few days.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

