Book Blogging · books · Review

P.S I Like You, Kasie West | Book Review

Screen Shot 2016-09-02 at 21.32.16
4*

Review Time!!!

I spent the whole day reading this wonderful and latest book from the amazing Kasie West. It was light-hearted, humorous and me in a nutshell. Enjoy! 😀

GoodReads Synopsis:

Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds thatsomeone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

Praises ❤

I literally just finished this book feeling mushy. I actually did something a little different whilst reading this book, I took notes 😛

Normally I just read a book and enjoy it, but I really wanted to review this book for you guys and decided I needed to get my act together and do this properly. And I am so glad I did. This book was so full of humour and cute little quotes that I had to write down.

Now I told myself not to make this post full of spoilers for you guys so there is none, so I won’t be going into my fangirl mode. These are just some surface points that I felt made this book what it was.

First of all, I love Lily’s personality and honesty throughout this book. If it were any other book, there would be so many hidden secrets between her and her best friend, Isabel. I appreciated this aspect of friendship in a contemporary. It also meant that when there was going to be a fight or fall-out, it wasn’t necessarily going to be about lying. I think this added a unique perspective on Lily and Isabel’s friendship. Lying was not on the cards for them and it made me respect not only their characters, but Kasie more ❤

Next, I adored the crazy and never organised family Lily belonged to 😀 I really think that it added that universal to the story and to Lily as a character. If you don’t already know, I have three younger sisters who make my house and loud and can never find one moment of peace. Lily’s older sister and two younger brothers didn’t give her a chance to think either. I felt I had so much in common with this character just by that aspect alone.

The fact that there was so many scenes in this book where Lily and her siblings fought and got along really related to my life with my sisters. We may fight every day (yes, everyday) but we are so close. The whole family aspect of this book really made it enjoyable and relatable for me as a reader 🙂

Moving on, Lily’s taste in “weird music” and the fact that she is such an awkward person.

giphy

Her unique taste in music also related to me on so many levels. The fact that no one seemed to know the bands she was into or the type of indie music she listened to just sums up my music sense. Except for the fact that I love country music. Like full on Nashville country. No one else really knows the artists I listen to or the people I will see in concerts. I don’t tend to share that piece of information either.

I was only eight pages into the book when I realised how much I connected with this character. Kasie was so open about Lily’s awkwardness towards situations in life like entering into a music contest or even just the simple task of boys. Aren’t we all awkward at leat one stage of our lives? Well, in my case, awkwardness should just be an occupation 😂

Linking in with the previous points, in general Kasie really used real life issues and concerns teenagers go through in this book. Some were minor. like boys, but some were bigger issues that some kids go through like divorces and family separations.

The entire book was not centred around Lily’s letter drama’s in Chemistry class and who the mystery writer was. Family, friends and life was added into the mix. It really makes this book more relatable to readers, more enjoyable to know that you are not alone in this world. Kasie did an amazing job of creating this story with humour, love and scary life decisions. I really couldn’t put the book down all day 😛

Just on a side note that is not of topic of any of the points above, can I just say how cute the cover is!

giphy (1)

Okay, so most contemporary books are predictable at this rate. The guy gets the girl, there is a fight, there is the cute make up, the love-hate relationship. They may be cliché but they are the best features of contemporaries in my opinion. I love to see how the relationship progresses and I especially loved to see how Lily and Cade fared in this book.

No that was not a spoiler because it was obvious from the moment he was introduced into the story that something or other was going to happen. It was only a matter of time.

Cade being the mysterious popular jerk in the story just heightened my love for him… yes I know realise how weird that sounds. But you also know how there is always another side to these characters and a whole background waiting to be revealed. Kasie definitely expressed the whole mystery aspect with Cade but really brought out that other side throughout this book. His character was funny, sweet, cute in head, but also just a guy. He had problems in his life like so many and kept everything bottled inside. It really reminds readers that guys have a sensitive side too. ❤

They are all my non-spoiler points for this review. If there were spoilers this review would be ten times longer, so much fangirling and so many heart emojis added. I really did love this book if you couldn’t tell and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a light fun read.

I really hope you guys liked this review if you actually made it to the end. I realise now it’s quite long. I had so much fun reading this book and I hope you will to if you ever decide to pick up this book. You can purchase this book on Book Depository or Amazon.

If you have read this book, what are your thoughts on it?

Thank you so much for reading guys and I hope you enjoy your weekend!

Pierina Reads ❤

GoodReads

Twitter

 

7 thoughts on “P.S I Like You, Kasie West | Book Review

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed this! I understand completely about the predictability of current YA romance, but that doesn’t make it bad. Sometimes you just need a good pop-romance. Fluff reads as I call them. Nothing groundbreaking, but completely joy.
    Any other fluff reads you’d recommend?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

