Book Blogging · books · Review

Let’s Talk Books | The Wrath And The Dawn Renée Ahdieh *SPOILERS*

Please do not read this post if you have not read this book as I literally just spoil the whole book!

😳 🙁 🙄 😐 😶 😣 😖 ☹️

If you couldn’t tell, this is how my face looked when I finished this book an hour ago. I needed a chance to cool off before I got into this book discussion and I am still speechless.

I also apologise in advance for the mess of this book discussion 😛

GoodReads Synopsis:

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.

So this is pretty detailed and I really can’t give you a better description than that.

How Am I Going To Discuss This When My Heart Is Still Broken?

And that was my alternate title for General Overview!

I FREAKING LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS BOOK AND IF YOU DIDN’T PLEASE READ IT AGAIN AND LOVE IT!

😳 🙄

Okay back to reality now. Renée Ahdeih is one of the most talented authors I have read so far and she is definitely in my top 5. This book was written so beautifully with so much passion and tension to build this intense atmosphere that really drove me crazy. There was not a moment where I could settle down and just read at a nice pace. I didn’t grow bored once. I was entranced and just couldn’t stop reading until that last page that literally made the tears fall… and I was on the bus 😂

Sharhzad was one of the most bravest female characters that I truly admired throughout. She may not have been a bad assassin, but she was courageous in her actions and plans. I mean would you volunteer to marry a king who killed his wives for revenge? I wouldn’t!

Even though her bravery stood out, I loved how Ahdeih also expressed Shazi’s tender and sensitive side. It proved that she was not just a character full of hate, she was grieving and learning that not life is not always at is seems. It conveyed that we are all human no matter what the situation in our lives may be.

Khalid ❤ What can I say? From the moment he was introduced into the story I just hoped and hoped that he was not this murdering madman every other character accused him of being. I was so intrigued to see how Shazi’s first night would turn out. I knew the basis of the story but I was so curious to see how Khalid would react and what his background was.

Then when Shazi was on the verge of death, my jaw hit the floor. I was barely halfway through the book and Ahdeih was going to kill her. At first I thought that Shazi would live and the whole death thing was a misunderstanding and then she’s choking and can’t breathe and I was doubting the situation. I mean authors can be so unpredictable nowadays and Shazi could have just haunted Khalid or something. But luckily the madman king saved his wife and my heart was racing so freaking fast. Phew, that was a close call.

That was when I knew that Khalid had more of a story to tell and I wanted to know it!

Then I knew it and my heart literally just split in half! I thought he made a deal with the gods or something for his city to be safe BUT NO! IT WAS A STUPID CURSE! I mean that really did make the whole story even better and intense. It wasn’t his fault and he was still punished. I understand Ava’s father’s grief and anger, but you really just cost 100 families their little girls! What sort of person does that?

As bad as I felt for Tariq and as much as I adored him for rescuing his first love, I was so not rooting for him and Shazi. There is always that one person who ruins everything and I just knew he would be that person. However, I did love his character and the fact that he just jumped into action. And now that he is taking Shazi away from Khalid, I have a bad feeling about this!

So many plot twists, so many plot developments and so much love for each and every one of them. Jahandar is like some sort of sorcerer, Despina is pregnant with Jalal’s baby <3, who is this Musa guy? That stupid sultan and Tariq’s uncle. The second book is going to such a whirlwind. Did Tariq kill the Rajput or is he just knocked out? Because I really liked his silent character, he was so amusing.

Still so many emotions and so many other things to say, but this post is long enough and I need to get started on the second book right away.

Let me know your thoughts on this book!

Thanks for reading ❤

Pierina Reads<3

GoodReads

 

 

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books | The Wrath And The Dawn Renée Ahdieh *SPOILERS*

Leave a Reply

