Book Blogging · books

July Wrap Up

Another month, another pile of books I have read, another nine books to add to the GoodReads Reading Challenge! I didn’t get off to a great start what with being away, but I redeemed myself as soon as I got back home!

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 14.30.09

1. Glass Sword – Victoria Aveyard 

4*

Although I enjoyed this book, I did think that it was hard to get into. Red Queen left us in such a hype that I was expecting a bit more action in the beginning.

Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 23.39.37

2. The Shadow Queen – C.J Redwine

4*

So Good! I loved this little adaptation. It may not have been a big book, but there was plenty of action. Not to mention the addition of dragons!!!

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 13.36.33

3. The Potion Diaries – Amy Alward 

2*

This was an impulse buy in the airport because I needed another book to survive my two weeks away. I didn’t really have a notion of what this book was about. I just saw the Sarah J Maas sticker on the front and thought it might be good.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 13.37.11

4. An Ember In The Ashes – Sabaa Tahir

5*

Why did it take me so long to find this book? Alas, we were brought together when I bought it in Canada and started it straight away. So amazing!

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 13.39.06

5. The Summer I turned Pretty Series – Jenny Han 

3* – 5* – 4*

I literally read this series in the space of two days. I was in a summer mood and wanted something mushy and full of drama. I certainly got that from these books. I just love Jenny Han’s books, she just draws me in.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 13.42.14

6. Taming Chloe Summers – Anna Katmore

5*

I finally realised that this book was released and I didn’t have to wait until December. Regardless, I freaking love this book. You all know how much I love Anna and her Grover Beach Team Series but this one is definitely in my top favourites. You should already know which is my first 😉

Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 23.39.58

7. The Unexpected Everything 

3*

A slow start but once I got into it, it became an enjoyable read. I was also jealous of the fact that she had the job of walking dogs as well as having a fantasy writer boyfriend. Can I have that please?

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 13.40.03

8. Rebel Of The Sands – Alwyn Hamilton 

4*

I literally just finished this book this morning and am still caught up on it. I really liked the change in culture, actually learning how women were treated and men’s role in this society. Amani’s character was so empowering and just everything a strong female lead conveys.

That it my July Wrap Up. Let me know what books you guys read this month!

Also I have more detailed reviews on GoodReads so click the link below if you want to know more about any of these books!

Happy Summer everybody, get ready for the Autumn season to come 🙂

Pierina Reads ❤

GoodReads: pierinac12

Leave a Reply

