Review

City Of Ashes Review

Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 22.59.35

There is a few spoilers throughout this review if you have not yet read this book!

I really just want to apologise in advance for not posting this review much sooner. I had completed earlier last month and just didn’t get around to writing the review. Nevertheless, I am giving you one now!

If you haven’t noticed, I am a little obsessed with Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instrument Series. I basically post about it like everyday. Clare is just amazing and I really don’t know why I prolonged reading this series.

Here’s a little synopsis for you guys: After the disheartening bombshell of discovering that Jace and Clary are in fact brother and sister, the two try desperately to hide their growing feelings for one another. With their father, Valentine, still on the loose and increasing level of demonic power, the Lightwoods must pull together to find Valentine. A few bumps in the road lead to Simon becoming something that he has feared since the time who knew his kind existed. Love and heartbreak tie the shadowhunters and Simon together as they participate in the destruction of Valentine. Will they succeed in their mission and Clary get on with her normal life?

Yes, I know that wasn’t the best synopsis I have come up with. It’s so hard not to spoil anything though. Clare is just so fantastic that I can’t even put into words how much she has captured my attention.

I was so disheartened to discover that Clary and Jace were brother and sister. My heart broke into little pieces as they tried to move on. I like Simon, but I just wasn’t feeling his relationship with Clary. It seemed forced in a way.  I just wanted Jace and Clary to be together so bad! My romantic side is coming out. Clare really emphasises their love when Jace goes after Valentine after capturing Clary. I appreciate her outlining this and not leaving her readers confused. She clears it up and proceeds with her story.

The characters really just grow and develop. Clare really expands the POV and I appreciate the fact that she gives them all a chance to have a spotlight. Jace will still be my favourite, but Isabelle is warming her way into my heart. I also love how she has given Simon a purpose in this series. He is no longer just the mundane friend who is always in the way, but a vampire. I was really caught off guard with this occurrence, but was relieved that Simon had some sort of story of his own.

Clare’s writing is just amazing. She is so talented. She has the ability to express the characters’ feelings using simple wording. Yet, she has this unique fascination with metaphors. She describes images and scenes in such a professional and interesting way that it draws me in more. I am beginning to think of her as a real role model for her writing. Her style has really reached out to me to write my own stories in my own way. Does that make sense?

This second books is merely a book to fill in the gaps and proceed further with the story. I didn’t think that anything too major happened, bar Simon becoming a vampire and the ending. I found that Clare was using these events as a way to build up for something bigger and better in another book.

With it only being the second book and not too far into her story, the relationships still have not developed enough. Jace and Clary being the exception. There is still a lot of confusion about Alec and Magnus, what is the deal with Isabelle and commitment? Will Simon move on from Clary? No one has really grown closer, or even developed a relationship that is worth discussing just yet. Perhaps this will change in the next book.

I rated this book four out of five stars on GoodReads. I really did enjoy this book and the events that occurred. I was just waiting for the moment where all the built up tension explodes. The ending did leave me astonished with Clary figuring out her rune power. My hatred grew toward Valentine further, but I loved how all the shadowhunters came to fight the demons on the boat. The writing was spectacular and imagery was clear, the only thing that knocked that star was that there wasn’t a lot of mention between the forbidden love between Jace and Clary. I was left questioning Clare’s intentions about her plot between these characters.

I also like the politics of this series. I feel like the Clave is a metaphor for the politics in reality, minus the werewolves, vampires, faeries, shadowhunters and demons. Clare focuses on the corruption of the Clave. I can’t help feeling that she has used our political outbursts as some sort of stepping stone to create this organisation. Maybe it’s just me, but I like this connection. It gives me a connection with the anger of the characters toward their rulers and their rules.

That’s it for this review. Give it a like if you enjoyed it and comment any of your thoughts. Do you love the shadowhunting series as much as I do? I cannot wait for the new series in just a couple of days!

Thanks for reading,

PierinaReads ❤

Leave a Reply

