Review

Paradise Road Review

Review Screen Shot 2015-12-02 at 17.32.43.pngtime! I recently got this book by C.J Duggan as part of her Paradise Series. It’s Book 2. I have become obsessed with her books during Summer and read them all. That meant I had to wait until November for this book to be released. To get started, here is a brief synopsis for you guys:

Lexie has returned to Paradise and is ready to turn her life around. Her previous move into her cousin, Amanda’s, home didn’t go as she planned. The love of her life, Ballantine, thinks that there’s something going on between her and his brother, Dean. Amanda has completely changed and none of her friends seem to have time for her. Was returning such a good idea? What can a country-girl expect from city living? Lexie discovers the true meaning of hard work and love in this heated sequel. It would just be her luck that Ballantine will walk back into her life and upset the balance of her new life. With Dean corrupting her dreams, and Ballantine’s proposal, what will this country-girl choose?  Will Lexie finish her final year in school like she planned, or will her hothead land her in some trouble she doesn’t expect?

That wasn’t the best synopsis I’ve written, but I didn’t want to give anything away. I adored this book from the beginning to end. It was perfect for the mood I have been in. Duggan just keeps getting better.

I liked the first book, but hated how it ended. It left the whole plot open and I had to wait months for it be filled. When I began reading this, I couldn’t stop. Not only did she end it the way I wanted her to, her events really caught me off guard. Just when I thought Lexie was going to do one thing, she did the complete opposite.

Duggan really did keep my eyes glued to my iPad. I loved how she connected each and every event together. I was curious, at first, to see how Lexie would end up living in Paradise with her Uncle and Aunt gone, and how Ballantine would actually come waltzing back into her life. She set up this whole chain of events that really worked well together, yet they weren’t obvious or revealing.

I loved the few twists that were involved too. I had this idea of how everything would end, but my plan was so wrong. Yes, I did get the ending I wanted, Duggan just worked her way to it differently.

The one thing I will say about this book is the love triangle portrayed wasn’t as nail biting as I had hoped it would be. Ballantine doesn’t come in until halfway through the book, and even then he only has like two scenes. Duggan puts too much emphasis on Lexie and Dean, but she loved Ballantine. I was taken aback by her choice to keep it mellow. I knew who she would choose in the end, because how could you not choose him! I just thought, a proper love triangle would have made the plot a lot thicker and edgier.

That is my only critique about this book. I loved the characters, they were pretty much the same as the previous book. And, I loved the way, it was not all based around school. With Lexie turning eighteen and getting a job, Duggan focuses more on the aspects of real life. Lexie finding her way and having to learn that not everything can be handed to her, makes readers aware that life isn’t as easy as 1,2,3.

I rated this book four stars on GoodReads. It was the lack of the love triangle that got me with this book. I was just waiting for Lexie to have the major meltdown of who to choose, but it never came. I would recommend this book to anybody over sixteen. There were a lot of heated moments too inappropriate for younger eyes. Duggan portrayed her story very well and I liked how the events unfolded to give me the ending that I had hoped for.

That’s it for this review, I hope you liked it. Please leave a comment below if you have read this book, or want more information on it. I also hope you are liking my Blogmas posts so far. I am having so much fun writing them for you, so don’t forget to keep up to date with them.

Thanks for reading,

PierinaReads ❤

 

One thought on “Paradise Road Review

Leave a Reply

