adventure · London · travel · Winter

My Trip To London

Well hello to all youScreen Shot 2015-11-23 at 18.21.05.png beautiful readers! If you can’t tell by my greeting, I am in a really good mood today… and all of last weekend. I recently hopped on a plane to London with my mother and three younger sisters. And, it was an amazing experience!

As you all know, I am Irish so travelling for me is a big thing. We may have the most gorgeous landscapes and cutest little towns, but we don’t have the biggest and most coolest sites in our cities.

In the past three/four years, I have travelled to Rome, Paris and Toronto and they were so amazing. But, if I’m being honest, London topped all of them. I know some of you will be like “what is she on about? Rome and Paris are way nicer than London”. Yes, they are beautiful cities and I loved every moment of my trip, I felt more at ease in London.

I knew a lot more about the sites and I understood the language that people spoke. These two things made the trip even more special. Also, the shopping was so affordable compared to here! You guys have a way better Primark, and I loved Superdrup… because we don’t have one of those… and we really need one!

So, yeah! When we arrived at our hotel, we had to wait for the room and I was cool with that. Hotels in London were either expensive and plush, or cheap and dirty (no offence), so Mam thought it would be better to splurge and stay in a hotel we know will be comfortable. It was right beside Victoria Station, so I didn’t have to walk too much… I don’t do exercise! So, when we got the room, we were pretty excited that it was an actual apartment that overlooked the whole city. It was really like a penthouse in all honesty. I have never stayed in such a nicer place and really did feel like royalty!

It really was like a dream come true, or like a scene from Girl Online, where Penny arrives in New York and has the time of her life. So, I was Penny for the weekend! The London Eye was the best experience ever. Heights don’t really have an affect on me, so that was all good. But, we got tickets during the evening and got to see the view in the dark. The lights of every building illuminated the whole city and it just took my breath away. It’s safe to say that a lot of selfies were taken.

Madam Toussauds had to be my favourite attraction of all. Okay, so when I first entered the first stage, I was totally freaked. I’m not kidding! I actually got totally scared at these realistic wax figures that would not move. My sisters really did have the time of their lives laughing at the horror all over my face. Within a few selfies, I loosened up a bit and felt more relaxed. The taxi ride was so fun! I really don’t know much about English history, but within five or so minutes, I learned a lot. The 4D experience was my favourite part though. I have never seen anything in 4D and I was shocked at how realistic it all was.

We only stayed for two days and before I knew it we were pulling into our driveway, the experience lived and gone. I really did have such an amazing weekend and would do it all over again within a heartbeat. Travelling during this time with everything going on, did leave me a bit on edge, but I made it home safe and sound. I do have a lot of pictures to show you guys, so if you would like to see them, comment or like!

Are any of you readers from the UK? Have any of you ever visited London? What did you think? Let me know down below. I also bought a few books while I was away, so a short book haul will be coming soon, so stay tuned.

Thanks for reading,

PierinaReads ❤

 

One thought on “My Trip To London

Leave a Reply

