Review

Remember Me Review

I finished thisScreen Shot 2015-10-31 at 15.55.09 book late last night, so I didn’t have time to write a review for you guys. This is the second book of Romily Bernard’s Find Me Series. Click here to check out her first book. This book is basically a continuation of the first with a lot more action. In the first book, Bernard was introducing her characters and letting her readers know who they are and what role they play. Now that we know all that, Bernard gives us a little treat with more action.

Wicket Tate has defeated her good-for-nothing father and his “employees”, escaped from the child molester, Todd and is adopted by one of the nicest women in town. She is safe and sound at last to live her normal life with her normal sister, Lily and normal boyfriend, Griff. It’s all she could ask for. Until someone else is killed and put on display for everyone else to see with “Remember Me” displayed across her chest. Wick is once again thrown into the world of hacking and computers to help solve this murder and the murders of other bodies found. That’s not all though. She has been given evidence to prove that her mother was not the person she believed she was. With killers after her and Griff breathing down her neck to get out, Wick is so lost. Maybe another love interest, Milo, will make her see that she has to embrace who she is and stop hiding from herself. A thrilling crime novel that will leave you stunned by the end. Wick is just living a not-so-normal teenage life.

Okay, I thought that was pretty good, right? Bernard has caught me once again. Her talent to put her story into words is one that wows me. I thought Find Me was good, but this book is even better. People aren’t who you think they are, and Bernard fools us into believing that they who we think they are… did that make sense? 😶

I liked the character changes in this book if I’m being honest. Carson is just as mean and annoying as before, but we see a new side of him at the end. It just goes to show that cops don’t know everything and that sometimes they need help to solve cases that they can’t solve. Bren and Lily have the perfect Mother-Daughter bond, even though they shame Wick too much. I mean give the girl a break, she is being blackmailed!

Okay, so this love triangle between Wick, Griff and Milo really interested me, and I’m not a fan of love triangles. I mean I love Griff’s character in the first book, but in this book he annoys me. I know you love her and want her to be safe, but will you stop being the knight in shining armour for one minute and actually listen to what she has to say. He should know that she will never have a normal teenage life! That’s where Milo comes in. He really understands Wick and is the only person who doesn’t make her fell inferior. He sees her for what she really is and the skills she has and instead of shaming Wick, he encourages her. He is there for her when she really needs it most, which is more than I can say for Griff… so, as you can see I am a bit too emotionally invested in this love triangle.

Bernard is more daring with her plot. In her previous book, she focused on one death. Well, she expands and makes it several deaths. I think this is more interesting as it gives a wider range of suspects. It allows the readers to analyse all the characters on their own and come up with their own conclusions as they read. I expected one of the killers, but the second one really hit me in the face. I was gobsmacked, but then again I am brutal at solving mysteries. Bernard is trying to show us that people aren’t always who we think they are. This is perhaps a life lesson for her readers.

I would rate this book four stars out of five. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, but I found that Bernard placeing all this hassle and drama on a sixteen-year-old girl is not quite believable. I know it is a fiction, but it’s not realistic in a sense. Perhaps if Wick was eighteen or twenty then they story could flow better. I would reccommend this book for anyone over fifteen who loves a good mystery and a bit of a thrill.

That’s it for this review, I hope you liked it. Please comment if you have read this book or want to read it so we can have a little chat about it 😊 Thank you for reading, I hope you all have a Happy Halloween 🎃

PierinaReads ❤

One thought on “Remember Me Review

Leave a Reply

