Book Blogging · books

Relating To Characters

Relating to characters in books can be very simple for some, but difficult for others. In most books, I instantly click with at least one character in the book. In some cases though, I find it hard to relate to them. I was told during an English seminar last week that the reason why people read is to step into someone else’s shoes and live their lives. Apart from escaping realism, this point really stuck in my head. Weirdly eScreen Shot 2015-10-14 at 23.10.08nough, I’ve been thinking about it all week 🙂

Without realising it, every time I read I am actually viewing myself in someone else’s life, like Cassie’s in The 5th Wave. It’s weird to think that we enjoy doing this so much (well for those who read anyway 😛 ). I don’t know about most of you but I always place myself in the shoes of the main character for some reason (maybe to give my life some action 😛 ), unless the main character is male… then, no. Does anyone else do this or is it just me?

As I said before, I find it so easy to relate to characters, especially if they have the same traits as me and interests. When I was twelve, my best friend recommended The House Of Night Series to me (yes, it was a vampire phase 😛 ) and I fell in love with them. We fangirled so much 😀 But, the main character, Zoe, peed me off a little. Then, in one of the books, P.C Cast dedicated chapters to Zoe’s best friend, Stevie RaeScreen Shot 2015-10-14 at 23.12.29, who I adored. It just turned out that I wanted to be so much like this character. It’s also how I came to love country music… you’ll understand if you’ve read the series (Stevie Rae was from Oklahoma 😛 )

Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that it is important to be able to relate to characters while reading as it gives us some sort of idol, or idea of what kind of people we want to be, and how we want to think in life. I know that’s a little deep 😛 I find it difficult to read a book the whole way through if I can’t relate to at least one character… it drives me mad 😀 What about you? Do you relate to characters just as easy? Let me know 🙂

Thanks for reading 🙂 This was just a little post to dedicate what my English tutor told me. I thought it might interest some of you guys to 🙂

Leave a Reply

