Review

The 5th Wave Review

It’s review time πŸ˜€16101128 The only reason it took me so long to read this books was because of the amount of shifts I had for work and the pile of readings I had to for college. I honestly don’t know I managed to sneak time in πŸ˜› Anyway, without further-a-do, this is my review for The 5th Wave (you already knew that πŸ˜› ).

Cassie for Cassaiopeia has lost the people most closest to her because humanity’s time has to come to an end. The dinosaurs put our needs before theirs and moved over so we could live, now Cassie and her race has to do the same. Times are a-changing and a new species from the galaxy have come to mark their territory on Earth. They do so in waves. With four down, billions of people have died and the population declined so rapidly. Only those who are strong enough have survived. Cassie goes in search for her young brother Sammy after he is taken from her. She stumbles upon Evan Walker, a man who lives on a farm and knows how to use a gun all-too-well. Yet, there is still something strange about him to Cassie. The question is can she save her brother and outsmart the new species to save their humanity?

Okay, so maybe that was a little dramatic πŸ˜› I’m going to be honest, I didn’t know this was even a book until I was snooping on YouTube and found the trailer for it πŸ˜› (Chloe- Grace Moretz people!) I’m so glad I found it though because this book has changed my life… okay I’m being dramatic again πŸ˜› I mean the way I think. Rick Yancey, you are a genius! How did you come with this storyline? All I can think about now is being invaded by aliens and the fact that they might actually be watching us πŸ˜€

To tell the truth, I didn’t really like the character changes throughout the book. It might just be me, but I kept getting confused who’s perspective I was reading about… I mean I obviously caught on eventually πŸ˜› It was nice to see the different views, but I was just more interested in what was going on in Cassie’s perspective. I thought some of Ben’s chapters were a little boring… I know that he was showing his readers what it was like in Camp Haven, but I was just more interested in Cassie’s journey πŸ™‚

Part from that, I thought the book was mind-blowing! I loved the relationships that was portrayed. Obviously, Cassie and Evan were my favourite because I’m a helpless romantic ❀ Ben was like Sammy’s big brother and made me soften a little to his character, although I still think he should have just kissed Ringer… it’s obvious you like her!!! Vosch just creeped me out all together, like you really need to calm down with this whole kill the humans thing πŸ˜›

Yancey worded everything simply, which allowed me to get a better image in my mind what was going on. The easier the words, the better I can conjure the story in my head πŸ˜› The ending was obviously the ending I wanted to happen…. it would be crap otherwise πŸ˜› My only question… what the hell happened to Evan? Is the answer in the second book? Did he die? I don’t want him to die 😦 Please tell me he’s in the second book!!!!

I would rate this book four of five stars as it literally blew my mind! I need to track down the second book fast πŸ˜€ I would recommend this book for anyone who is interested in sci-fi, thrillers, mysteries and I suppose a little bit of romance ❀ Yancey really combined all my favourite genres and put them into one book, hence, he is a freaking genius! πŸ™‚

That’s it for this review. Follow me on GoodReads to see what book I’ll be reading next, so you know which review will be coming πŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed it πŸ˜€ Stay tuned for more posts soon πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “The 5th Wave Review

  1. Great review! πŸ™‚
    But I’ll probably pass on this book. I’ve just read an alien book that wasn’t too good so… I still have a hangover from that. :p

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

