Tips

5 Steps To Finding The Right Book For You

Hey guys, I thought I might do a blog post on finding books that suit you. This can be quite complex, but at the same time it can be easy. From personal experience, I am just as picky about choosing a book than I am about my dinners. I don’t just pick up a random book and buy it. I have a little system in place that I want to share with you πŸ™‚

Step 1: Age

There are a range of books for all age groups. Growing up I moved from the children’s section, to teen (am still here), and to adult or bestsellers. It all depends on your age group. Once you step into a bookstore or a library, find the section for your age group. This will be your starting point.

Step 2: Personality

This can be a major influence on the kind of books you read. You may be a really happy and quirky person and tend to go for more romantic young adult (this is me πŸ˜› ). You might be a curious and inquisitive person and become addicted to science fiction. You might be a horror fanatic and pick up the most horrifying and gory book you see. Your interests and the kind of person you are will help you find the right book. That doesn’t mean you can’t read other genres, you can experiment and enjoy them πŸ™‚

Step 3: Read All The Titles

This can take some time (that’s why I dedicate a day to book shopping πŸ˜› ). A good trick is to skim through the whole section and find titles, or book covers, that interests you or catches your eye. Pick them up and put them to aside. Staff think I’m weird and crazy when I stand there for half an hour deciding which books I want πŸ˜› This can help as you are counting on your instincts and your mind to pick the books that appeal to your senses πŸ™‚

Step 4: Always Read The Back

This is probably the most important step. You should always read the back of the book, or blurb, before you buy it (unless you already know what it’s about πŸ˜› ). The title and cover may seem interesting and appealing, but it may not be the type of story you are looking for. Your mood on the day can really affect this decision πŸ˜› I love reading the back as they give me some insight into the story, which makes me all the more excited to read it πŸ˜€ Buying a book without reading the back can have consequences, you may not like it and it would have been a waste of money πŸ™‚

Step 5: Buy And Read

This is the most basic step. When you have the books that interest you, go ahead and spend the money that you worked hard all week for πŸ˜› It is worth it in the end though πŸ˜€ Make sure you do read them and that they don’t just sit on your shelf collecting dust. All books are valuable and should be read πŸ™‚ This is the most satisfying step of all for all you book worms out there πŸ˜€

I hope you liked this post. It was a little something different that I thought you might like. Finding books can be hard when you are constantly reading and have to find new ones. Try different book stores and not just the same one to get a wider variety πŸ˜› This post makes you step back and think about what kind of books you want to read, and that involves you thinking about who you are and the things that inspire you most in life πŸ™‚ Book reading is enjoyable, so if it a passion of yours read as many books as you can in your lifetime πŸ˜€ Thanks for reading guys ❀

Leave a Reply

