Review

This Song Will Save Your Life Review

Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 14.17.34

Hey beautiful people:D I have just finished reading this book (literally πŸ˜› ). I mentioned it in one of my previous posts below, if you want to catch up πŸ™‚ This book was something different for me entirely, but at the same time I actually enjoyed it πŸ™‚

Leila Sales has a very acquired figure of imagination (in my opinion). She really did give me a lot to think about though, which I have noticed is something that I have considered very deeply.

Long story short; Elisa Dembowski is a sixteen-year-old girl struggling to get through her teenage life. She comes across obstacles that stands in the way of her happiness each day: bullies. She isn’t like normal girls, she has her own sense of unique style, her own music taste and her own mind. She wants so desperately to be normal, but there is just something about her that won’t let it happen. With the many negative thoughts running through her mind, Elise has to come up with an option to stop the hatred in her life. There are quite a few, but everything changes when she stumbles upon a secret underground club. Elise is thrown into another world entirely. A world with music, romance, heartbreak and passion. She begins to discover herself as she takes her long and bumpy journey through her teen years.

Sales really surprised me with her opening chapter. I was taken aback and totally questioned my instinct of buying this book. It was nothing like I normally read. Elise comes up with ways to show her bullies how much they really hurt he. Her last resort was suicide. I don’t usually read novels about suicidal teens, I find that they can bring me down and really dampen my only escape from reality. I don’t want to offend anyone here by this statement and I am in no way judging anyone either, it’s your life you live not mine. Even though Sales opened her book with this scene, it didn’t stop me from reading.

At first I thought, I don’t want to read this if all Elise wants to do is kill herself (again no offence)… but for some reason I did keep reading. I am so glad I did πŸ™‚ Sales brought me to my happy place, my escape. Soon enough, things started looking up for Elise and I had to know how everything ended.

All throughout the book Sales definitely gave me a lot to think about in terms of appreciating life (I know this post is probably depressing). Even though this book was, in the beginning, out of my comfort zone, I gave it a shot and I thoroughly enjoyed it πŸ™‚

Sales is totally laid back with her characterisation and that’s what I liked about it. There was no important people to remember. Everyone was just part of the story. Does this make sense? As well as this, Sales allowed us to read into their personal lives a little more. This made me appreciate who they were meant to be as characters.

I would say I connected with this book, maybe not for her views on life, but on a scale of truly learning to find yourself. Sales has inspired me πŸ™‚ I would recommend this to girls over fifteen who are having a really bad day, week, or time in their lives and need some uplifting. It definitely made me think twice πŸ˜›

I hope you liked this review. I know it’s a little different than my usual ones, but I decided to go out on a limb with this one πŸ™‚ I hope you are all having a good weekend. Stay tuned for more posts soon (that made it seem like a radio station πŸ˜› ) ❀

2 thoughts on “This Song Will Save Your Life Review

Leave a Reply

