Tips

5 Steps To Avoid Book Hoarding

A few months ago, I was redecorating (a hobby I tend to do a lot πŸ˜› ). I was Spring cleaning and just trying to knock some of my hoarding qualities out of me. I am more of a sentimental person. Anyway, when I actually looked at my bookshelf I realised how much of a hoarder I had become. I still had books from when I was twelve.. books I hadn’t read in so many years just sitting there collecting dust 😦

I had to mentally slap myself for letting my bookshelf become so unorganised. I had to take them all out and create two piles. In the end, a lot of the books went in the ‘Get Rid’ pile. Books like twilight (which I was obsessed with by the way πŸ˜› ) had to go. I didn’t read them anymore and they were just taking up space I could use for new books. It was a tough decision and a hard thing to do. Luckily, my Mam gave them to her friend’s daughter… so, they’re in a better place. Here, are five steps I have come up with to avoid this doesn’t happen again:

Step 1: Piling

Create two piles/boxes. Mark them ‘Keep’ and ‘Get Rid’. This will ensure that there will be no confusion and mess during your clear out.

Step 2: Dividing

This is one of the hardest parts. You have to remove all books from their shelf and think really hard. Read the title and think about whether this book is of any sentimental value. Did you like the book? Did you fall in love with the characters? When was the last time you read it? Do you think you’ll ever read it again? Split the books up depending on whether you think they are worth keeping. It is hard, but it has to be done.

Step 3: Look Again

It is hard to let go. Put the ‘Get Rid’ pile/box aside and focus on the ‘Keep’. Go through every book in this pile and be honest with yourself. You are always going to slip one or two… maybe five πŸ˜› books in there without thinking things through (this happens to me a lot). Be real with yourself and find that willpower to give them up.

Step 4: Rehoming

Find a new home for your books. This could be at a charity shop, donation to a children’s hospital, a friend of a friend. Knowing that your books are going somewhere where they will be appreciated makes the whole situation that bit easier. Also, it gives you some control and makes you feel good for giving something to others.

Step 5: Reorganising

Now that you have a much neater and spacious bookshelf, you can arrange it anyway you like. Group your books according to authors, release dates, genres, whichever is easier. This will release some of the clutter in your life πŸ˜€ Also, you can go out and spend your week’s wages in Chapters or Eason to fill up your shelf just that little bit more πŸ™‚ (unless you prefer to spend it on alcohol… most do πŸ˜› ).

The point of this post was that books have some major value and can be very sentimental to us readers. But, you also have to make sure that you make space for new books too πŸ™‚ I don’t know if my message is coming across in this, but I decided to give it a go πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoyed this post πŸ˜€ Do you have book hoarding problems, or am I the only one? Hope you guys are having a good day ❀ Thank you for reading πŸ˜›

5 thoughts on “5 Steps To Avoid Book Hoarding

  1. Awesome tips! I need to re-organize my books soon. We moved into a house a few months ago, and I just stuck them all in one of the closets that have shelves. Unfortunately, there’s no order to it. It’s on my to-do list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

