Review

Four Review

Screen Shot 2015-09-11 at 01.26.07

Hey guys 😀 Okay, so I have had the most busiest day today. I spent the whole day reading Four 😛 From my previous Update (scroll down) I mentioned I bought this book only yesterday. For some reason I have just wanted to reread the Divergent series again. I fell in love with this book as soon as I read the back. I saw it in Eason, picked it up and read it. I just knew I had to hear Tobias’ side of the story. He is probably my favourite character in the book (I know cliché) and yes Theo James is partially responsible 😛 Who is your favourite character?

Anyway, in a nutshell, Roth goes back two years before Tris and Four’s meeting. She begins with his cruel life before Dauntless, in Abnegation. Not spoiling anything, let’s just say he had a bad childhood… When Choosing Day arrived, he knew he had to escape his faction, his old life. He needed to be reborn. Choosing Dauntless, as you all know, was his only choice at a new future. Roth takes us through his initiation and how he begins to fit in with his new family (his friends). Soon after, he meets Tris… and you know how that goes 😛

I loved how Roth broke this book down. The Transfer, The Initiative, The Son and The Traitor. It really helps determines what stage it is in his life. They are short though, which was disappointing. I was hoping for more events and details about his time in Dauntless. Roth seems to speed through his two years in Dauntless 😦

I liked seeing Four’s life before he met Tris. It really helped relate me to him more. I was able to read the series again knowing of his background. I was more sympathetic and understanding. I also loved how I could read his feelings in this book. Divergent is written in Tris’ perspective. I know how she feels about her experiences and the people around her, but Four was a mystery. It is nice to have the other side of the story 🙂

Personally, I believe relationships are a major feature when it comes to novels. In this book, Four and Amar’s relationship stood out the most. As a mentor he was there for Four. He invited him into the faction and gave him the chance to integrate. Roth explains early on in the book that Four was always a lone wolf. Amar tries to show him that Dauntless treat each other like family and that being alone won’t help living there. We quickly learn that Amar is Divergent. It brings everything into perspective for Four as his growing suspicions become real.

I also like the relationship between Four and Tori. Tori seems to be the most genuine person in this series. She may be Dauntless but she is there to help when one needs it. She treats Four like a Dauntless and doesn’t question his background, or anything when he shows up dishevelled, looking for a tattoo that could expose his secret.

I fall in love with Four more as the book continued. As the events unfold and the city changes rapidly, I notice how Four changes too, especially when he meets his new initiative, Tris. Roth conveys her mind blowing story with her imagery. She explains everything so well that I, sometimes, felt that I was actually witnessing everything like reality. It is so vivid that conjuring it is easy. This makes the book more thrilling and exciting. Seeing the events unfold like it was a movie made the book more attaching. You know when you watch a good movie and you can’t get up to make more popcorn? Well, that was me with this book. I, literally, couldn’t put it down until I finished it 😛

I would rate this book five stars because it was so amazing. I love Roth’s work, she has a talent to make her readers grip the edge of their seats wanting more. I know stories have to come to an end sometime, but I wanted more. I would recommend this book to anyone really. It is thrilling, mind blowing and quite eventful. You won’t get bored in between the middle (I tend to 😛 ). It is a good page turner 😀

Thank you so much for reading and I hope you liked this review. Roth is one of my favourite authors ❤ and I hope she keeps bringing out more books like this. If you haven’t read the Divergent series… please read it 😀 I hope you guys are having a nice day 🙂

One thought on “Four Review

Leave a Reply

