Review

The Maze Runner Review

Screen Shot 2015-09-03 at 21.25.30Okay, so this is probably still one of my favourites at the moment… it’s pretty high on my list πŸ˜› Let’s just start by saying how cute Dylan O’Brien is ❀ Anyway, getting down to business. I am pretty sure most of the teenage/young adult population has read this book πŸ˜€ It was truly amazing! I was hooked from the first page.

The short story is: Thomas is sent to a maze where he meets a surviving group of boys. The next day Theresa, the only girl, is sent there too. Upon their arrival, everything isn’t as it once was before. Thomas and Theresa are scientists who work for a company to save mankind from the scorching sun that has ruined Earth and created a deathly disease. LittleΒ do they know that what they once were was not who they wanted to be. James Dashner has some imagination to create such a plot line.

I particularly liked the fact that Dashner kept the events on top of each other. Books can become boring when things fizzle out before the finale. Dashner goes his own way and keeps everything flowing. That is the main reason why I finished this book in a day. I literally didn’t put this book down until I had read the last word.

The relationships between the characters build as they form a strong bond. There is always going to be an outsider/bad character. I think Gally played the perfect part in this book. His wavering mind between right and wrong put a strain on the group. It wouldn’t be much of a story without that one person who does the complete opposite of everyone else. Dashner really outlines the bond between young people (even if they are trapped in a giant maze with no where to go). Chuck and Thomas have the deepest connection. It really goes to show how much we need people in this life and every other life there may be. Gally is more of a lone-wolf, with his obeying pack. However, Thomas treats his peers with respect and gives them a choice to fight or die.

The ending of this book had me gripping the chair for more. Luckily, I had bought the whole series and didn’t have to wait πŸ˜› I immediately dove into the Scorch Trials πŸ˜€ I will say that this book was my favourite out of the series. It is the beginning of a story, where everything is new and mysterious. Mystery is the best quality of this series. Dashner really keeps readers on their feet.

I would rate this book five stars. I have no critiques. Dashner blew my mind with his imagination and vivid imagery of a new lifetime. Technology plays a major part as well as the alliances of people. I can’t wait for The Scorch Trials to reach cinemas soon.

I would recommend this book to all teens and young adults who are seeking thrill, mystery and a bit of gore. I am more of a fantasy, romantic girl myself, but Dashner played his cards right.

Thank you all very much for reading. I hope you like this review πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

