Review

The D.U.F.F Review

I finally deciScreen Shot 2015-09-02 at 20.25.25ded to put my time to some use and write a review (which I haven’t done in a while). The D.U.F.F is one of my favourite books at the moment. I actually didn’t know it was a book until after the movie was released. Yes, the movie is one of my favourites too… mainly because I ❤ Robbie Amell… Anyway, Kody Keplinger dives into the life of a particular teenage girl who isn’t the most popular amongst her high school peers.

Bianca Piper has family dramas and boy dramas as she meets Wesley Rush. I particularly love the relationship Keplinger creates between Wesley and Bianca. The growing hatred at the beginning infuriates the reader, which in my opinion creates an ambiance. Long story short, they fall for each other like always (the best part :P). It is the build up and the wait that had me attached. I wanted to imagine that twist when they both realise that they wanted the same thing.

Keplinger really outlines the lives of teenagers and how they treat each other… their actions and behaviours. After reading this book, it made me realise the people I have around me and how amazing life is with them in it. This book is in no way deep like others. Keplinger keeps the plot and dialogue upbeat and, at too many times, heated.

I appreciate the fact that she doesn’t dance around the actions of teenagers in this generation. Keplinger was only seventeen herself when she first wrote this book, which allows readers to get an insight into the actual actions of teenagers. In some books, they avoid the topic of relationships but Keplinger breaks the rules. Some young adult authors dance around the intimacy and contact between teenagers, but Keplinger gets straight to the point and doesn’t bother hiding it. This makes more sense as you read the book 😛

I was disappointed that the move was polar opposite to the book. Although I am a major fan of the movie, there are some scenes in the book that would have suited the movie. I feel that the movie distances Keplinger as the writers completely changed the plot line. It puts her on the outside and doesn’t really give her a chance to reveal her talent for such an imagination.

I would rate this book four out of five stars. It has an amazing plot and I fell in love with all the characters. However, I felt that there wasn’t enough detail when it came to the contact between Wesley and Bianca. It infuriated me to see how young people find ways to distract themselves. Keplinger didn’t justify the safety of sex, which is a major problem and should be outlined in all young adult books.

I would recommend this book for girls aged sixteen and up, due to the unsuitable scenes for younger girls. It is a great book for when you are down and want something to pick you up again. Personally, I read this book whenever I am in the mood for a romantic novel. Keplinger doesn’t use the cliché of how the boy falls for the girl and they instantly fall madly in love with each other, whispering sweet nothings in their ears. It is a bit more forward and realistic.

I hope you enjoyed this review. If you have anymore requests please don’t be afraid to contact me. I shall have another review up soon 🙂 Thank you so much for reading :*

2 thoughts on “The D.U.F.F Review

Leave a Reply

