Review

An Endless Summer Review

Hey people! I IMG_1704know it has been a while since I have posted anything I have just been super busy, but I wanted to get back into it for the summer 😀 So, if you guys have seen my new page on my blog ‘My Electronic Bookshelf’, you’ll know that I have given up on buying paperback books… it’s all explained on the page. One of my first few books I got (for free) on iBooks was the Summer Series by C.J Duggan, and I am completely obsessed.

There are six books in total and I am patiently waiting (not so patiently) for the next one coming in December. I have decided to do a review of the third book An Endless Summer. This is my favourite book so far, I am in love with it. So, without further ado, this is the low down:

Amy moves back to Onslow after being shipped to boarding school for a few years over one drunken night when she was fifteen. Sean, head of the Onslow Boys always knew Amy when she was kid. Moving back to Onslow leaves a spark between the two hot-headed pair. Sean has plenty of practice with women and he was not one for commitment. The spark between them brings them closer as the harder Amy tries, she can’t stay away from Sean. With a few bumps in the road and a lot of drinking and games, a fortunate and tear dropping end left me speechless and wanting more.

Duggan uses simple wording and imagery, which I praise. I was able to create the events in my mind like it was a film. That is my preference. The plot is easy to follow, yet I couldn’t peel my eyes away from my iPad screen. The novel is based during the summer when Amy’s parent’s hotel is about to be closed and she has to do everything in her power to stop her childhood home from being ripped from her. The characters are easy-going, and I believe that they are relatable too, in a way that they all have problems and issues like every other young adult.

There are a lot of games between the two as they figure out their feelings for one another, and that also kept my attention. Just as you thought something might happen, Duggan cleverly uses a twist and your mind is blown. It is obvious that they fall for each other and either way the book ends with the two admitting their ‘undying love’, but it is their story that somehow made me become so obsessed with the book. With one event comes another and so on. Duggan keeps the plot flowing, not giving her readers even the slightest of a break before diving into another scene that leaves you wanting to know more. It is a clever technique that had me giving up my day just to get to the bottom of the story. I appreciate how Duggan dives straight into the plot and details of the scenes, it saves less time and energy into figuring out the characters. With most books I find the author slowly works their way into what they want to achieve with the characters. I find that daunting as it takes half of the book to get to that point where you relate to them and can place yourself in their shoes. Duggan strikes gold as she rolls up her sleeves and gets to the point. This way there is more room for more events to occur in the book, giving Sean and Amy more of a story.

I would recommend this book to any young adult, preferably over eighteen as there are a few scenes that are inappropriate for younger people. The Summer Series is all about adventure and fun. An Endless Summer definitely brings them. I enjoyed the other five books as they are all about love, but they each have their own story and background. There was just something about Sean and Amy’s characters that made me fall in love with them instantly. Maybe it was because they were totally different, yet completely the same.. does that make sense? Either way, this is a fantastic book and I am encouraging you to purchase it! 😛

This review has been long enough. I hope you enjoyed it and can find the time to read the Summer Series. I just know that once you start reading the first book, you won’t be able to stop until you have read all six books. C.J Duggan is one of my new favourite authors and I cannot wait to read more of her stories. The fact that she gives an insight into the lives of Australia is appealing as most books are set in America… well the ones that I read 😛

Thanks for reading ❤

One thought on “An Endless Summer Review

Leave a Reply

