Review

The Naturals Review

Okay so47292_TheNaturals.indd Fictional Friday time πŸ˜€ I have decided to do a review on one of my favourite books at the moment. You may have guessed from the title, it is called The Naturals, written by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (have you heard of her?) This book is definitely more for the younger population but she had me obsessed from the first word (how does she do that?)

Barnes creates a fictional world much the same as reality. The only difference is that five teenagers have the ability to catch out criminals… this was my favourite part. Cassie Hobbes is new at the whole being a secret FBI (behind the scenes) agent and quickly makes friends… and a love triangle. Barnes dives into the stalker that has been on the hunt for Cassie for a long time and when it finds her, trouble begins. This stalker just happens to be some sort of psychopathic serial killer and, of course, a killing spree is in order. With her natural ability to step into the mind of a person just by looking at a photograph, Cassie and her team quickly solve the murders only to find out that the killer is not who she thought it would be.

Barnes’ use of perception is amazing in this book. Although she uses a first person narrative, the readers are not without loss of details. The plot was easy to follow and not to mention nail biting… I’m not kidding. A book is only boring when there isn’t at least some romance, Cassie’s romance was more of a throwback to when you were fourteen and you had a crush on some guy, but were too afraid to do anything about it. This book allowed me to return to my younger days as a newly teenager with new feelings for boys and not just about princesses and Neverland (I actually still dream of Neverland), yet I was still able to look through that and see the world for its dangerous purposes. Barnes gives so much freedom in this book to choose how to react to it, in a way that the main character is meant to be perfect and the killer is all bad. She enables you to step into their shoes and decide for yourself.

I would recommend this book for young adults, rather than younger teenagers. Some of the detail can be a bit extreme in terms of murders. However, Barnes lead such a interesting and mysterious plot that I actually took a whole day out of my schedule to read it… and I actually finished it within a day (unusual for me). If you have read this book then you know what I’m talking about… if you haven’t download, buy or borrow it. It is amazing and I am a big fan. There are two books of the series thus far and the second one is pretty much similar, but I will review it another time.

I hope you enjoyed this review and thank you for taking the time to read it πŸ™‚ I hope you are all enjoying your day and maybe this might give you something to do if you’re like me and have nothing to do except assignments you’re trying to dodge πŸ˜›

2 thoughts on “The Naturals Review

Leave a Reply

